Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

2018 WAC Volleyball Postseason Award Winners Announced

2018 WAC Volleyball Postseason Award Winners Announced

Complete Release in PDF

BAKERSFIELD, Calif. – The 2018 WAC volleyball award winners, as selected by the league's nine head coaches, were announced tonight at the WAC Tournament banquet. UT Rio Grande Valley senior outside hitter Ragni Steen Knudsen was named WAC Player of the Year, while Seattle U's Shae Harris repeated as Setter of the Year. Meanwhile, Chicago State's Megan Klavitter was named Libero of the Year, Utah Valley's Kazna Tarawhiti was named WAC Freshman of the Year and Kansas City's Christi Posey was named WAC Coach of the Year.

Knudsen earned WAC Player of the Year honors after leading the league in kills (4.27) and points (4.79) and ranking ninth in hitting percentage (.259) in WAC matches. She posted eight double-doubles in WAC play and was a four-time Offensive Player of the Week honoree this season.

Harris repeats as WAC Setter of the Year after averaging 9.62 assists and 2.90 digs per set in conference play. She posted nine double-doubles in WAC matches.

Klavitter earns WAC Libero of the Year honors after breaking the WAC record for digs in a season at 678. She led the league in digs (318) and digs per set (5.68) and ranked second in service aces per set (0.41) in WAC play and was twice named WAC Defensive Player of the Week this season.

Tarawhiti earned WAC Freshman of the Year honors after rafter leading the WAC in kills (4.15) and points (4.61). She had seven double-doubles on the season, including five in WAC matches.

Posey led her team to a third-place finish after being picked to finish fifth in the preseason poll. The Roos won 20 matches for just the third time in program history. She earns the award for the second time in her career.

2018 WAC Volleyball Postseason Award Winners

First Team School Yr. Pos.
Tatyana Battle NM State Sr. OH
Alicia Harrington Kansas City Jr. OH
Megan Hart NM State Jr. MB
Ragni Steen Knudsen UT Rio Grande Valley Sr. OH
Tyrecia Lukes Kansas City Jr. MH
Tesa Oaks California Baptist So. OH
Kazna Tarawhiti Utah Valley Fr. OH


Second Team School Yr. Pos.
Kristen Allred Utah Valley So. OH
Melanie Brecka Kansas City Fr. RS
Alexandra Ecker UT Rio Grande Valley Sr. MB
Shae Harris Seattle U Sr. S
Makaila Jarema Utah Valley Jr. MB
Barbara Silva UT Rio Grande Valley  Jr. RS
Natalie Zimmerer California Baptist Jr. S


All-Freshmen Team School Pos.
Brooke Boiseau CSU Bakersfield MB
Melanie Brecka Kansas City RS
Savannah Davison NM State OH
Kaira Moss Grand Canyon MB
Megan Sester California Baptist OH
Kazna Tarawhiti Utah Valley OH

WAC Player of the Year:
Ragni Steen Knudsen, UT Rio Grande Valley
WAC Setter of the Year:
Shae Harris, Seattle U
WAC Libero of the Year:
Megan Klavitter, Chicago State
WAC Freshman of the Year:
Kazna Tarawhiti, Utah Valley
WAC Coach of the Year:
Christi Posey, Kansas City