Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

This Week in WAC Women's Tennis - May 1

This Week in WAC Women's Tennis - May 1
The 2019 All-WAC women's tennis teams have been named, following a vote of the WAC's six head coaches. UT Rio Grande Valley's Dominique Ibarra headlines the awards, earning WAC Player of the Year honors, while Chicago State's Diana Borodina was named WAC Freshman of the Year and Grand Canyon's Gregory Prudhomme earned WAC Coach of the Year honors.
Ibarra was named WAC Player of the Year after going 5-0 in conference play at the No. 1 singles position. A first team All-WAC honoree at the No. 1 spot in both singles and doubles, she was named Player of the Week four times this season between both singles and doubles play. Ibarra boasts a 17-6 record on the year and heads to the WAC Tournament having not lost since January 19 – a 13-match win streak.
Borodina earned WAC Freshman of the Year honors after going 4-1 in the fourth position for Chicago State as a singles player in WAC play. She also paired up with teammate Katarina Drazic as the No. 2 doubles team for the Cougars and posted a 4-1 record in conference play, earning first team All-WAC honors. She also earned second team All-WAC honors in singles.
Prudhomme earned WAC Coach of the Year after leading Grand Canyon to a 4-1 record in conference play.  He led the Lopes to a 9-8 overall record and also earned the same honors on the men's side.
The complete All-WAC teams are listed below.
First Team All-WAC Singles
No. 1 Singles Dominique Ibarra, UT Rio Grande Valley
No. 2 Singles Celia Morel, Grand Canyon
No. 3 Singles Celina Buhr, Grand Canyon
No. 4 Singles Martina Lo Pumo, Grand Canyon
No. 5 Singles Nethmi Waduge, UT Rio Grande Valley
No. 6 Singles Bhargavi Kalaga, NM State
First Team All-WAC Doubles
No. 1 Doubles Dominique Ibrarra and Marine Darzyan, UT Rio Grande Valley
No. 2 Doubles Diana Borodina and Katarina Drazic, Chicago State
No. 3 Doubles Autum Prudhomme and Celia Morel, Grand Canyon
Second Team All-WAC Singles
Diana Borodina, Chicago State
Katarina Drazic, Chicago State
Emilia Occhipinti, Grand Canyon
Katie Fries, Kansas City
Yana Grechkina, Kansas City
Harsha Challa, NM State
Second Team All-WAC Doubles
Emilia Occhipinti and Celina Buhr, Grand Canyon
Chloe Gavino and Rebecca Keijzerwaard, NM State
Lindsay Harlas and Yadira Rubio, NM State
Player of the Year: Dominique Ibarra, UTRGV
Freshman of the Year: Diana Borodina, Chicago State
Coach of the Year: Gregory Prudhomme, Grand Canyon
The 2019 WAC Tournament Champion NM State women's tennis team will take on No. 3-seed Stanford in the NCAA Tournament in Palo Alto, Calif.
The Aggies (15-9) are headed to the NCAA Tournament for just the second time in program history as the WAC representatives. They punched their ticket with a 4-3 win over Grand Canyon in the WAC Tournament title match this past Sunday.
NM State takes on Stanford (22-1), after they won their fourth-straight Pac-12 title.
The winner of each first and second round site advances to the USTA National Campus in Orlando, Fla. where the 16 teams will compete for the national championship May 16-25. The women's team semifinals and title match are scheduled for May 18 and 19.
The WAC announced the 2019 Women's Tennis All-Tournament honorees, as voted on by the six head coaches, following last weekend's WAC Tournament in Brownsville, Texas.
Katarina Drazic, Chicago State
Dominique Ibarra, UT Rio Grande Valley
Ludovica Infantino, Grand Canyon
Neus Torregrosa, NM State
Thanushree Vale, Kansas City
Michelle Walker, UT Rio Grande Valley

Harsha Challa/Gavi Kalaga, NM State
Lindsay Harlas/Yadira Rubio, NM State
Dominique Ibarra/Marine Darzyan, UT Rio Grande Valley
Chicago State lost in their first match of the WAC Tennis Championship 1-4 to UT Rio Grande Valley.
Grand Canyon opened the WAC Championship with a 4-2 win over UT Rio Grande Valley. They fell in the championship match to NM State 3-4. The Lopes lost the doubles point and were unable to bounce back in singles play. Emilia Occhipinti, Celina Buhr, and Ludovica Infantino earned the Lopes' three points against NM State.
The Roos topped Seattle U 4-1 in their first match but lost 3-4 to NM State in the semifinals. Against NM State, Katie Fries, Grace Ball, and Thanushree Vale won in straight sets in singles play but it wasn't enough as the Aggies took the doubles point and three singles matches.
 The Aggies won the 2019 WAC Women's Tennis Championship after defeating Kansas City and Grand Canyon both 4-3. NM State snatched their narrow victory over Grand Canyon opening with a win in doubles play. They followed with singles wins from Lindsay Harlas, Neus Torregrosa, and Chloe Gavino. The Aggies head to Stanford, Calif. on May 4 to face Stanford in the opening round of the NCAA Division I Tournament.
Seattle U lost 1-4 to Kansas City in their opening match.
UT Rio Grande Valley slid past Chicago State 4-1 but was stopped by Grand Canyon, 2-4, in the semifinal match. Dominique Ibarra and Michelle Walker managed wins in singles play to own the Vaqueros' two points. Both won  in straight sets 6-3, 6-1 and 6-2, 6-2, respectively.