Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

2019 WAC Women's Tennis Bracket Released

2019 WAC Women's Tennis Bracket Released

DENVER - The Western Athletic Conference has announced the bracket for the 2019 WAC Women's Tennis Tournament on April 26-28 in Brownsville, Texas hosted by UT Rio Grande Valley.

Grand Canyon earns the first seed after finishing first in the regular season standings with a 4-1 record in conference. The Lopes receive a bye before facing the winner of the No. 4 vs No. 5 matchup.

NM State joins Grand Canyon with a ticket straight to the semifinals as the No. 2 seed going into the tournament. The Aggies finished conference play with a 3-2 record. They will have to wait until the quarterfinal match up between seeds No. 3 and No. 6 finishes before they know who they will be playing.

Taking the third seed is Kansas City as they finished the season with a 3-2 conference record.

As the host institution, UT Rio Grande Valley enters the tournament as the fourth seed with a conference record of 3-2 and will take on the fifth seeded Chicago State (2-3).

Rounding out the seeding is Seattle U with the No. 6 seed.

The tournament begins Friday, April 26th with both of the first round matches beginning at 9 a.m. local time.

2019 WAC Women's Tennis Championship
UT Rio Grande Valley | Brownsville Tennis Center | Brownsville, Texas

Friday, April. 26
Match One: No. 4 UT Rio Grande Valley vs. No. 5 Chicago State, 9 a.m.
Match Two: No. 3 Kansas City vs. No. 6 Seattle U, 9 a.m.

Saturday, April 27
Match Three: No. 1 Grand Canyon vs. Winner Match One, 9 a.m.
Match Four: No. 2 NM State vs. Winner Match Two, 9 a.m.

Sunday, Nov. 4
Match Five: Winner Match Three vs. Winner Match Four, 9 a.m.