Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

2019 WAC Softball Tournament Bracket Announced

2019 WAC Softball Tournament Bracket Announced

Tournament Bracket

The Western Athletic Conference has announced the bracket for the 2019 WAC Softball Tournament May 8-11 at the GCU Softball Stadium in Phoenix.

Seattle U is the top seed after winning its first-ever WAC regular-season title with a 15-3 mark. The Redhawks are led by Kaylee Ree, who hit .450 with four doubles, a triple and two homers in WAC games. Bailey Thompson hit .412 with six doubles, four home runs and 17 RBIs. In the circle, Andie Larkins led Seattle U with a 5-0 record and a save in WAC games.

NM State is the No. 2 seed after earning a sweep at CSU Bakersfield to close out the season. The Aggies posted a 12-6 record to tie with Grand Canyon, but earned the tiebreaker by winning the series with the Lopes. NM State is led by Mya Felder, who hit .388 in WAC play with six doubles, four home runs and 13 RBIs, while Nikki Butler hit .386 with two doubles, four home runs and 11 RBIs in WAC play. Samaria Diaz led the Aggies in the circle with a 7-1 record and three saves in WAC play. She also posted a 1.39 ERA.

The third seed went to host Grand Canyon, which finished tied with the Aggies with a 12-6 record in WAC play. The Lopes are led by Shea Smith, who hit .431 in WAC play. Madelyn Dowdle hit .396 with five doubles, while Savannah Tourville hit .353 with four doubles and two homers. In the circle, Brianna Aguilar went 4-2 with a save and a 0.70 ERA in WAC games.

Utah Valley earned the No. 4 seed. The Wolverines are led by Brianna Moeller and Abby Doughty, who hit .397 and .352, respectively, in WAC play.

Kansas City enters the tournament as the fifth seed with a 6-12 WAC mark. The Roos are led by Chyanne Onstad, who hit .333 in WAC play.

CSU Bakersfield is the sixth seed with a 3-15 record. The 'Runners are led by Nadia Amezcua, who hit .245 in WAC games.

The tournament begins on Wednesday, May 8, with the first game at 2:30 p.m. local time. All games will be shown live on ESPN+. International viewers can watch on the WAC Digital Network at