Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

UTRGV's Lew Hill Finalist for Ben Jobe Award

UTRGV's Lew Hill Finalist for Ben Jobe Award announced on Thursday that UT Rio Grande Valley men's basketball head coach Lew Hill is a finalist for the 2019 Ben Jobe award, presented annually to the top minority coach in Division I men's basketball.

The recipient of the 2019 Ben Jobe award will be announced on April 5 at the College Insider Awards Event in Minneapolis, site of the 2019 Final Four.

Hill guided UTRGV to its best-ever finish in WAC play, going 9-7 en route to the No. 4 seed in the WAC Tournament. UTRGV currently has 18 wins, the program's winningest season in 11 years and tied for the 13th-winningest season in program history.

UTRGV is having one of the best defensive seasons in program history, forcing a program record 588 turnovers while grabbing 313 steals, two short of the program record. UTRGV is in the top five in the NCAA of four defensive categories, ranking third in steals (313) and steals per game (9.5) and fifth in turnover margin (5.0) and turnovers forced (17.85).

UTRGV also ranks second in the nation in free throws made (576) and third in attempts (835).

An icon in the history of basketball at Historically Black Colleges and Universities, Jobe is best known as the head coach of the Southern University, a position he held for 12 seasons.

His record at Southern was 209-141 and included four NCAA Tournament appearances. He also coached the Jaguars to one NIT appearance, five SIAC championships, 11 SWAC titles and two NAIA Tournament Championships. Perhaps his most memorable moment as a coach was Southern's 93-78 win over Georgia Tech in the first round of the 1993 NCAA Tournament. It stands as one of the great upsets in the history of the event.

2019 Ben Jobe Award Finalists
Tommy Amaker, Harvard
Jeremy Ballard, FIU
Johnny Dawkins, UCF
Travis DeCuire, Montana
Patrick Ewing, Georgetown
Jason Gardner, IUPUI
Earl Grant, Charleston
Leonard Hamilton, Florida State
Penny Hardaway, Memphis
Lew Hill, UTRGV
Michael Huger, Bowling Green
Ron Hunter, Georgia State
Justin Hutson, Fresno State
Donte' Jackson, Grambling
James Jones, Yale
Johnny Jones, Texas Southern
Mike Jones, Radford
Robert Jones, Norfolk State
Jay Joyner, North Carolina A&T
Dave Leitao, DePaul
Ritchie McKay, Liberty
Robert McCullum, Florida A&M
Richie Riley, South Alabama
Kelvin Sampson, Houston
Byron Smith, Prairie View A&M