Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

NM State Wins 2016-17 Commissioner's Cup

NM State Wins 2016-17 Commissioner's Cup
DENVER - The Western Athletic Conference today announced the winner of its annual Commissioner's Cup with this year's honor going to NM State with 87 points. The Aggies finished the year with eight WAC championships, winning postseason titles in women's basketball, men's basketball, women's golf and softball. The volleyball, women's basketball, men's tennis and softball teams claimed regular season titles.

The WAC awards its Commissioner's Cup to the school that performs the best in each of the conference's 19 men's and women's championships. Points are awarded in order of finish, equal to the number of teams that participate in each sport and are averaged between a team's regular season finish (if applicable) and its WAC championship finish. Teams that do not qualify for a postseason tournament due to a smaller field receive postseason points equal to their regular season finish. Teams that are ineligible for the postseason receive zero postseason points but can still earn regular season points. Ties are not broken but instead are averaged between the tied teams. Affiliate members are not eligible for the Commissioner's Cup but their standings are still used for determining points.

UMKC finished in second play with 84.50 points. The Roos won titles in men's cross country, women's tennis, men's tennis and both men's and women's outdoor track and field.

Seattle U placed third with 80.25 points, earning both the regular season and tournament titles in women's soccer and the men's golf crown. Utah Valley was fourth with 80 points, earning the women's cross country championship and the men's soccer regular season title.

Grand Canyon finished fifth with 68.00 points despite not being eligible for a number of WAC championships due to NCAA rules during its Division I transition period. The Lopes swept the men's and women's indoor and track and field championships and had a strong spring, winning regular season titles in women's tennis, softball and baseball.

CSU Bakersfield was sixth with 55.75 points, earning the regular season title in men's basketball. UT Rio Grande Valley was seventh with 54.50 points and Chicago State was eighth with 20.75 points.

Click here to see the complete final results.
#WAC55 - Paul Brechler
July 27, 2017 #WAC55 - Paul Brechler
2017-18 WAC SAAC
July 3, 2017 2017-18 WAC SAAC
2016-17 WAC SAAC Members
August 2, 2016 2016-17 WAC SAAC Members