Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

New Mexico State Wins WAC Commissioner's Cup

New Mexico State Wins WAC Commissioner's Cup

DENVER - The Western Athletic Conference today announced the winner of its annual Commissioner's Cup with this year's honor going to New Mexico State with 89.25 points. The Aggies finished the year with 11 WAC championships, winning the postseason titles in men's basketball, women's basketball, men's tennis, women's tennis, men's golf, women's golf and softball. The men's basketball, women's basketball, men's tennis and softball teams also claimed regular season titles. All 11 of the Aggies' titles came in less than a two-month span, from March 14-May 10, a timeframe that saw NM State win seven-consecutive WAC postseason championships.

Seattle U finished in second place with 85.75 points. The Redhawks won three WAC championships, winning postseason titles in women's cross country and women's soccer. The women's soccer team added a regular season title.

Missouri-Kansas City rounded out the top three with 84.75 points. The ‘Roos finished with a postseason title in women's outdoor track and field, and regular season titles in women's soccer and volleyball.

Utah Valley finished in fourth place with 75.75 points, with the men's cross country, men's indoor track and field and men's outdoor track and field claiming postseason championships.

Grand Canyon finished fifth with 65.50 points despite not being eligible for a number of WAC championships due to NCAA rules during its DI transition period. The 'Lopes won the women's indoor track and field championship, and the men's tennis and baseball regular season titles.

Bakersfield was sixth with 62.25 points, winning postseason titles in volleyball and baseball. Texas-Pan American was seventh with 47.25 points and Chicago State was eighth with 20.75 points.

The WAC awards its Commissioner's Cup to the school that performs the best in each of the conference's 19 men's and women's championships. Points are awarded in order of finish, equal to the number of teams that participate in each sport and are averaged between a team's regular season finish (if applicable) and its WAC championship finish. Teams that do not qualify for a postseason tournament due to a smaller field, receive postseason points equal to their regular season finish. Teams that are ineligible for the postseason will receive zero postseason points but can still earn regular season points. Ties are not broken but instead are averaged between the tied teams. Affiliate members are not eligible for the Commissioner's Cup but their standings are still used for determining points.

Click here to see the complete final results.