BakersfieldChicago StateGrand CanyonKansas CityNew Mexico StateSeattle UTexas-Pan AmericanUtah Valley
2011 All-WAC Softball Teams Announced
Courtesy: WAC
FRESNO, Calif. – The Western Athletic Conference today released its 2011 all-WAC softball teams and major awards as selected by the league’s head coaches. Hawai`i’s Jessica Iwata was named WAC Player of the Year, while teammate Stephanie Ricketts was named Pitcher of the Year. New Mexico State’s Valerie Swedberg was named Freshman of the Year and the Aggies’ Kathy Rodolph was named Coach of the Year.

Iwata, a sophomore shortstop from Lihu’e, Kaua`i (Kaua`i), repeats as WAC Player of the Year. She ranked second in the WAC in batting average (.429), third in on-base percentage (.520), tied for third in hits (27), fourth in RBI (22), fifth in slugging percentage (.714) and tied for fifth in home runs (5) in WAC play.

Ricketts, a junior righthander from San Jose, Calif. (Archbishop Mitty) earns WAC Pitcher of the Year honors for the second year in a row. She posted an 8-4 mark with a 1.92 ERA in WAC play. She held opponents to a .215 batting average and tallied 87 strikeouts in conference games.

Swedberg, a utility player from Albuquerque, N.M. (Cibola), led the conference in WAC play in doubles (7), ranked second in slugging percentage (.883) and RBI (27), ranked third in batting average (.417), tied for third place in home runs (7) and was tied for sixth in hits (25).

In her eighth season at New Mexico State, Rodolph earned Coach of the Year honors for the first time in her career after leading her team to its first-ever WAC title and the top seed in this week’s WAC Tournament. In WAC play, the Aggies went 17-4 and led the conference in batting average, slugging percentage, on-base percentage, runs, hits, RBI, doubles, home runs, total bases and stolen bases. 

New Mexico State led the way with seven players on the all-WAC teams, followed by Boise State with five and Fresno State and Hawai`i with four apiece. Ten of the players were repeat selections from a year ago, while seven schools were represented. The complete teams are listed below.

First Team
Devon Bridges Boise State 5-9 Fr. OF Danville, Calif. (San Ramon Valley)
Teresa Conrad New Mexico State 5-8 So. SS/1B Los Angeles, Calif. (Notre Dame Academy)
Allie Crump% Boise State 5-11 Jr. P/1B/DP Elk Grove, Calif. (Elk Grove)
Jessica Iwata$ Hawai`i 5-4 So. SS Lihu’e, Kaua`i (Kaua`i)
Tiare Jennings$# New Mexico State 5-8 Jr. OF Turlock, Calif. (Pitman)
Kandis Jones% New Mexico State 5-6 Sr. OF La Mirada, Calif. (La Mirada)
Michelle Moses$ Fresno State 5-9 Jr. P/1B Paso Robles, Calif. (Paso Robles)
Hoku Nohara!% New Mexico State 5-7 Sr. DP/1B Waimanalo, Hawai`i (Kamehameha)
Andrea Ortega% Fresno State 5-4 Jr. OF Scottsdale, Ariz. (Coronado)
Kylie Randall% New Mexico State 5-5 Sr. SS/OF Chula Vista, Calif. (Bonita Vista)
Stephanie Ricketts$# Hawai`i 6-0 Jr. P San Jose, Calif. (Archbishop Mitty)
Valerie Swedberg New Mexico State 5-8 Fr. OF Albuquerque, N.M. (Cibola)
Aubray Zell Boise State 5-10 Jr. P Lakewood, Calif. (Lakewood)
Second Team          
Alex Aguirre Hawai`i 5-5 Jr. OF Temple City, Calif. (Temple City)
Nicole Angene Fresno State 5-10 Sr. 1B/3B Norco, Calif. (Norco)
Christina Capobianco Boise State 5-7 Jr. 1B/DP Laguna Niguel, Calif. (El Toro)
Tina Ferguson Utah State 5-2 So. C Payson, Utah (Spanish Fork)
Janna Frandrup Louisiana Tech 5-6 So. P/2B Phoenix, Ariz. (Greenway)
Erin Jones Nevada 5-5 So. 3B Antioch, Calif. (Sacramento State)
Meghan Krieg$# Louisiana Tech 5-9 Sr. P Sonora, Texas (Sonora)
Allison Lenzora Utah State 5-4 Fr. IF Manteca, Calif. (Central Catholic)
Kelly Majam$ Hawai`i 5-3 So. OF Pine Valley, Calif. (Mountain Empire)
Ashley Maroda New Mexico State 5-10 Sr. 3B San Bernardino, Calif. (Cajon)
Brooke Ortiz Fresno State 5-7 Fr. 2B/3B Lodi, Calif. (Lodi)
Kassy Uchida Utah State 5-0 Fr. UT Burbank, Calif. (Burbank)
Tazz Weatherly Boise State 5-4 Jr. OF Stockton, Calif. (St. Mary’s)

$2010 first team All-WAC
%2010 second team All-WAC
!2009 first team All-WAC
#2009 second team All-WAC
@2008 first team All-WAC
&2008 second team All-WAC

2011 WAC Player of the Year:
Jessica Iwata, Hawai`i
2011 WAC Pitcher of the Year: Stephanie Ricketts, Hawai`i
2011 WAC Freshman of the Year: Valerie Swedberg, New Mexico State
2011 WAC Coach of the Year: Kathy Rodolph, New Mexico State
View All
New Mexico State
Grand Canyon
Seattle U
Utah Valley
CSU Bakersfield -
Grand Canyon -
New Mexico State -
Seattle U -
Utah Valley -