BakersfieldChicago StateGrand CanyonKansas CityNew Mexico StateSeattle UTexas-Pan AmericanUtah Valley
WAC Announces Men's Basketball Coaches Preseason Picks

DENVER – The Western Athletic Conference announced its men’s basketball preseason poll and all-WAC teams, as voted on by the nine head coaches in the league. Utah State was selected to win the WAC, while Nevada sophomore Luke Babbitt was tabbed the league’s preseason Player of the Year.

Utah State, the 2008-09 WAC regular season and tournament champion, received eight first place votes and 64 points. Nevada captured second place with 53 points, receiving one first-place vote. New Mexico State took third place with 50 points. With 42 points, Idaho was voted fourth. Louisiana Tech (31) and Fresno State (30) followed closely behind in fifth and sixth place, respectively. Boise State (23) and San Jose State (19) finished seventh and eighth, respectively, while Hawai‘i (12) was ranked ninth.

The coaches also voted on preseason first and second all-WAC teams. Nevada sophomore forward Luke Babbitt, the 2008-09 WAC Freshman of the Year, leads the list of first-teamers. Idaho senior guard Mac Hopson and Nevada junior guard Armon Johnson also earned spots on the preseason first team. Utah State senior guard Jared Quayle and New Mexico State junior guard Jahmar Young round out the first team.
Second-team selections include Roderick Flemings (Hawai‘i), Paul George (Fresno State), Kyle Gibson (Louisiana Tech), Sylvester Seay (Fresno State) and Tai Wesley (Utah State).

2009-10 Preseason Men’s Basketball Coaches Poll

Rank Teams (1st Place Votes)  Points
  1. Utah State (8)               64
  2. Nevada (1)                   53
  3. New Mexico State             50
  4. Idaho                        42
  5. Louisiana Tech               31
  6. Fresno State                 30
  7. Boise State                  23
  8. San Jose State               19
  9. Hawai‘i                      12

Preseason Coaches All-WAC Teams
First Team                             
Luke Babbitt, So., F, Nevada 
Mac Hopson, Sr., G, Idaho      
Armon Johnson, Jr., G, Nevada            
Jared Quayle, Sr., G, Utah State    
Jahmar Young, Jr., G, New Mexico State

Second Team                             
Roderick Flemings, Sr., F, Hawai‘i  
Paul George, So., G/F, Fresno State      
Kyle Gibson, Sr., G, Louisiana Tech           
Sylvester Seay, Sr., F, Fresno State     
Tai Wesley, Jr., F, Utah State

Player of the Year: Luke Babbitt, Nevada

There are no standings for this sport.
CSU Bakersfield -
Chicago State -
Grand Canyon -
New Mexico State -
Seattle U -
Utah Valley -