BakersfieldChicago StateGrand CanyonKansas CityNew Mexico StateSeattle UTexas-Pan AmericanUtah Valley
2015 WAC Baseball Tournament on WDN
WAC Announces Menís Basketball Postseason Award Winners
Courtesy: WAC

DENVER – The Western Athletic Conference men’s basketball postseason award winners as selected by the league’s nine head coaches were announced today.

The first team is led by New Mexico State junior Daniel Mullings who was also voted the WAC’s Player of the Year. Mullings averaged 17.0 points, 6.4 rebounds and 3.3 assists per game in WAC play this season. Mullings is the first New Mexico State player in school history to be named the WAC’s Player of the Year. Grand Canyon’s Killian Larson, Idaho’s Stephen Madison and Utah Valley’s Ben Aird and Holton Hunsaker were also first team selections.

This year’s all-WAC second team consists of Bakersfield’s Issiah Grayson, Chicago State’s Quinton Pippen, Grand Canyon’s Jerome Garrison, New Mexico State’s Tshilidzi Nephawe and Seattle U’s Isiah Umipig.

Kansas City’s Martez Harrison earns the WAC’s Freshman of the Year award. In 16 conference games, Harrison averaged 18.6 points per contest, 4.2 rebounds and 3.9 assists per game.

Utah Valley head coach Dick Hunsaker earned the Don Haskins Coach of the Year honor after leading the Wolverines to a WAC regular season title in his team’s first year in the conference. Hunsaker led Utah Valley to a 19-10 overall record and a 13-3 mark in WAC play.

Those named to the WAC’s all-defensive team were Bakersfield’s Aly Ahmed, Grand Canyon’s Garrison, New Mexico State’s Sim Bhullar, New Mexico State’s Mullings and Utah Valley’s Mitch Bruneel.

Selected to the WAC’s all-newcomer team were Grand Canyon’s Daniel Alexander, Kansas City’s Harrison, New Mexico State’s DK Eldridge, Seattle U’s Umipig and Utah Valley’s Zach Nelson.

The 2014 WAC Tournament will be held March 13-15, at the Orleans Arena in Las Vegas, Nev.

2013-14 WAC Men’s Basketball Postseason Award Winners

First Team
Killian Larson, Sr., C, Grand Canyon
Stephen Madison, Sr., F, Idaho
Daniel Mullings, Jr., G, New Mexico State
Ben Aird, Sr., C, Utah Valley
Holton Hunsaker, Sr., G, Utah Valley

Second Team
Issiah Grayson, Sr., G, Bakersfield
Quinton Pippen, Sr., G/F, Chicago State
Jerome Garrison, Jr., G, Grand Canyon
Tshilidzi Nephawe, Jr., C, New Mexico State
Isiah Umipig, Jr., G, Seattle U

Player of the Year: Daniel Mullings, Jr., G, New Mexico State
Freshman of the Year: Martez Harrison, Fr., G, Kansas City
Don Haskins Coach of the Year: Dick Hunsaker, Utah Valley

All-Defensive Team
Aly Ahmed, So., C, Bakersfield
Jerome Garrison, Jr., G, Grand Canyon
Sim Bhullar, So., C, New Mexico State
Daniel Mullings, Jr., G, New Mexico State
Mitch Bruneel, Jr., F, Utah Valley

All-Newcomer Team
Daniel Alexander, Jr., F, Grand Canyon
Martez Harrison, Fr., G, Kansas City
DK Eldridge, Jr., G, New Mexico State
Isiah Umipig, Jr., G, Seattle U
Zach Nelson, Fr., F, Utah Valley

View All
New Mexico State
Grand Canyon
Seattle U
Utah Valley
Texas-Pan American
Chicago State
CSU Bakersfield -
Chicago State -
Grand Canyon -
New Mexico State -
Seattle U -
Utah Valley -