BakersfieldChicago StateGrand CanyonKansas CityNew Mexico StateSeattle UTexas-Pan AmericanUtah Valley
2015 WAC Baseball Tournament on WDN
2006 All-WAC Football Teams and Individual Awards Announced
Courtesy: WAC

DENVER – The Western Athletic Conference announced its all-WAC teams and coach and players of the year awards as voted upon by the WAC’s nine head coaches.  Hawai‘i led the league with nine first-team all-WAC honorees, while Boise State placed seven on the first team.  Hawai‘i’s Colt Brennan was named the Offensive Player of the Year, Boise State’s Korey Hall earned Defensive Player of the Year honors, and Utah State linebacker Paul Igboeli was named the Freshman of the Year.  Hawai‘i’s June Jones was voted the WAC’s Coach of the Year.
Brennan, a junior quarterback from Irvine, Calif. (Saddleback CC), is the nation’s leader in total offense with 410.8 yards per game and in passing efficiency with a rating of 182.8.  In 13 regular season games, he completed 373-of-517 passes (.721) for 4,990 yards with 53 touchdowns and just 11 interceptions.  He also rushed for 351 yards, the second most on the team, and scored five touchdowns.  Brennan is one touchdown pass shy of tying the NCAA record of 54 set by Houston’s David Klingler in 1990 and is 198 passing yards short of tying the WAC’s single-season record of 5,188 set by Brigham Young’s Ty Detmer in 1990.  Hawai‘i continues its season on Dec. 24 when it plays Arizona State in the Sheraton Hawai‘i Bowl.  It is the first time a Hawai‘i player has ever won the Offensive Player of the Year award.

Hall, a senior linebacker from Glenns Ferry, Idaho (Glenns Ferry HS), is a three-time first-team all-WAC selection.  He is currently third in the WAC in tackles this season with 8.8 per game.  He has made 54 solo tackles and 51 assisted for a team-high total of 105.  Hall has also recorded 6.5 tackles for loss (including 3.5 sacks), and has picked off six passes for a total of 108 yards.  He is the WAC’s active career leader in tackles with 388, the second most in league history.  Hall will finish his career in the Tostitos Fiesta Bowl against Oklahoma on January 1.  The award is the second for a Boise State defensive player as Quintin Mikell won it in 2002.
Igboeli, a freshman linebacker from Grand Prairie, Texas (South Gran Prairie HS), was second on the team with 69 tackles (34 solo, 35 assisted).  He made 8.5 tackles for a loss of 41 yards including three sacks for a loss of 31 yards.  He also forced two fumbles and recovered one in 11 games for the Aggies.

Jones earned his second WAC Coach of the Year award after leading Hawai‘i to a 10-3 record and a second place finish in the WAC with a 7-1 conference mark.  The Warriors lead the nation in scoring (47.3 points per game), passing offense (432.2 yards per game) and total offense (549.9 yards per game).  Hawai‘i is heading to the Sheraton Hawai‘i Bowl on Dec. 24, its fourth trip to that bowl game in five years.  Jones won his first WAC Coach of the Year award in 1999.

Repeat first team selections from last year include Hawai‘i wide receiver Davone Bess, Hawai‘i offensive lineman Samson Satele, Nevada defensive back Joe Garcia and Boise State linebacker Korey Hall.  Hall is a three-time first-team all-WAC honoree.  Satele was named to either the first or second team all four years at Hawai‘i after being named second-team all-WAC in 2003 and 2004.
All nine schools were represented on either the first or second teams.  San Jose State placed a WAC-high six players on the second team.

(Team and individual awards were voted upon by the nine head coaches)
First Team
Pos.-Name, School, Ht., Wt., Year
WR-Legedu Naanee, Boise State, 6-2, 228, Sr.
WR-*Davone Bess, Hawai‘i, 5-10, 187, So.
WR-Chris Williams, New Mexico State, 5-9, 155, So.
TE-Derek Schouman, Boise State, 6-2, 233, Sr.
OL-Ryan Clady, Boise State, 6-6, 319, So.
OL-Chris Denman, Fresno State, 6-6, 305, Sr.
OL-%Tala Esera, Hawai‘i, 6-4, 295, Sr.
OL-*#@Samson Satele, Hawai‘i, 6-3, 311, Sr.
OL-Jade Tadvick, Idaho, 6-5, 314, Sr.
QB-Colt Brennan, Hawai‘i, 6-3, 190, Jr.
RB-Ian Johnson, Boise State, 5-11, 194, So.
RB-Nate Ilaoa, Hawai‘i, 5-9, 248, Sr.

Pos, Name, School, Ht., Wt., Year
DL, %Andrew Browning, Boise State, 6-0, 278, Sr.
DL, %Ikaika Alama-Francis, Hawai‘i, 6-5, 250, Sr.
DL, %Melila Purcell, Hawai‘i, 6-5, 266, Sr.
DL, J.J. Milan, Nevada, 6-5, 270, Sr.
LB, *$Korey Hall, Boise State, 6-1, 228, Sr.
LB, Dwayne Andrews, Fresno State, 6-0, 240, Sr.
LB, David Vobora, Idaho, 6-1, 214, Jr.
LB, Ezra Butler, Nevada, 6-2, 248, Jr.
DB, Leonard Peters, Hawai‘i, 6-1, 199, Sr.
DB, Stanley Franks, Idaho, 5-11, 167, Jr.
DB, *Joe Garcia, Nevada, 6-0, 180, Sr.
DB, Dwight Lowery, San Jose State, 6-1, 185, Jr.

Pos, Name, School, Ht., Wt., Year
PK, Anthony Montgomery, Boise State, 6-1, 211, Sr.
P, Waylon Prather, San Jose State, 6-3, 220, Jr.
ST, Ross Dickerson, Hawai‘i, 5-10, 185, Sr.

Second Team
WR-Jason Rivers, Jr., Hawai‘i
WR-*Caleb Spencer, Sr., Nevada
WR-James Jones, Sr., San Jose State
TE-%Anthony Pudewell, Sr., Nevada
OL-Jeff Cavender, Jr., Boise State
OL-Dane Uperesa, Sr., Hawai‘i
OL-Dominic Green, So., Nevada
OL-Matt Cantu, Sr., San Jose State
OL-Malik Cin, Sr., Utah State
QB-#Jared Zabransky, Sr., Boise State
RB-Dwayne Wright, Sr., Fresno State
RB-%Yonus Davis, Jr., San Jose State

DL-Tyler Clutts, Jr., Fresno State
DL-Michael Lafaele, Jr., Hawai‘i
DL-Matt Hines, Jr., Nevada
DL-Ben Calderwood, So., Utah State
LB-Colt Brooks, Sr., Boise State
LB-Adam Leonard, So., Hawai‘i
LB-Tim McManigal, Sr., New Mexico State
LB-Matt Castelo, Jr., San Jose State
DB-%Marty Tadman, Jr., Boise State
DB-Josh Sherley, Sr., Freso State
DB-Courtney Bryan, Sr., New Mexico State
DB-Christopher Vedder, Sr, San Jose State

PK-Jared Strubeck, So., San Jose State
P-#Kyle Stringer, Sr., Boise State
ST-Patrick Jackson, So., Louisiana Tech

*2005 First Team All-WAC Selection
%2005 Second Team All-WAC Selection
$2004 First Team All-WAC Selection
#2004 Second Team All-WAC Selection
@2003 Second Team All-WAC Selection

Top Individual Awards
Offensive Player of the Year
– Colt Brennan, Jr., QB, Hawai‘i
Defensive Player of the Year – Korey Hall, Sr., LB, Boise State
Freshman of the Year – Paul Igboeli, LB, Utah State
Coach of the Year – June Jones, Hawai‘i

View All