BakersfieldChicago StateGrand CanyonKansas CityNew Mexico StateSeattle UTexas-Pan AmericanUtah Valley
Verizon WAC Football Players of the Week
Courtesy: WAC

DENVER - Nevada quarterback Cody Fajardo, Louisiana Tech defensive end IK Enemkpali and New Mexico State kick returner Taveon Rogers were named the Verizon Western Athletic Conference offensive, defensive and special teams players of the week, respectively.

Fajardo, a freshman from Brea, Calif. (Servite HS), accounted for 371 yards and four touchdowns in Nevada's 42-28 win over Hawai'i.  Fajardo completed 25-of-36 passes for 290 yards and a career-high three touchdowns with no interceptions.  He also rushed 19 times for 81 yards including a 25-yard touchdown run in the second half.

Enemkpali, a sophomore from Pflugerville, Texas (Pflugerville HS), had six tackles, including 3.5 for a loss of 18 yards, in the 27-7 win at Mississippi.  Enemkpali had a sack for a loss of seven yards and also forced a fumble.  He helped hold the Rebels to a 5-of-18 third-down conversion rate and kept the Bulldogs' streak intact of holding every opponent they face under their rushing average coming into the game.

Rogers, a senior from Lancaster, Calif. (Antelope Valley College), returned eight kickoffs for a career-best 246 yards including a 99-yard return for a touchdown in New Mexico State's 48-45 win over Fresno State.  It was his third touchdown return of the season, breaking a school record.  Rogers also caught 10 passes for a 166 yards to tally a school-record 412 all-purpose yards in the game.  It was the first ever win for the Aggies over Fresno State in 18 tries.

Others nominated on offense: sophomore wide receiver Jalen Saunders, Fresno State; freshman running back Hunter Lee, Louisiana Tech; junior running back Kenny Turner, New Mexico State; and junior running back Robert Turbin, Utah State.

Also nominated on defense: senior linebacker Brandon Marshall, Nevada; sophomore safety Justin Smith, New Mexico State; and senior defensive end Levi Koskan, Utah State.

Other special teams nominations included: sophomore cornerback John Hardy-Tuliau, Hawai'i; junior kicker Matt Nelson, Louisiana Tech; senior placekicker Jens Alvernik, San Jose State; and sophomore placekicker Josh Thompson, Utah State.


View All