BakersfieldChicago StateGrand CanyonKansas CityNew Mexico StateSeattle UTexas-Pan AmericanUtah Valley
Verizon WAC Football Players of the Week
Courtesy: WAC
DENVER - Hawai'i receiver Kealoha Pilares, Idaho linebacker Robert Siavii and Fresno State linebacker Shawn Plummer were named the Verizon Western Athletic Conference offensive, defensive and special teams players of the week, respectively.
Pilares, a senior from Wahiawa, O'ahu (Damien Memorial HS), set a new school-record with 18 catches in a 41-21 win over Louisiana Tech.  He broke the record of 16 set last year by Greg Salas.  Pilares finished the game with a career-high 217 receiving yards and two touchdowns.  He has now scored in each of the first five games and has nine touchdowns on the season, tied for the most in the WAC.
Siavii, a junior from Wahiawa, O'ahu (Leilehua HS), had a team-high nine tackles (5 solo) in the 33-13 win at Western Michigan.  Siavii added 1.5 tackles for loss including a half sack and also broke up two passes and had one quarterback hurry in the game.  Western Michigan came into the game fourth in the nation in passing with 332.0 yards per game, but was limited to just 104 yards through the air.

Plummer, a junior from Clovis, Calif. (Clovis HS), blocked a punt that was recovered in the end zone by the Bulldogs in Fresno State's 38-17 win over Cal Poly.  The play occurred in the second quarter to give Fresno State a 21-3 lead that was cut to 21-17 by the half.  It was his first career block and the 51st by Fresno State since 2002, the most in the nation.

Others nominated on offense: junior quarterback Kellen Moore, Boise State; senior quarterback Ryan Colburn, Fresno State; senior quarterback Nathan Enderle, Idaho; senior running back Vai Taua, Nevada; and senior running back Derrvin Speight, Utah State.

Also nominated on defense: sophomore defensive tackle Michael Atkinson, Boise State; junior defensive tackle Logan Harrell, Fresno State; senior safety Mana Silva, Hawai'i; senior safety Tank Calais, Louisiana Tech; senior defensive end Dontay Moch, Nevada; and junior linebacker Bobby Wagner, Utah State.
Other special teams nominations included: sophomore punt returner Chris Potter, Boise State; senior placekicker Scott Enos, Hawai'i; senior return specialist Shiloh Keo, Idaho; sophomore punter Ryan Allen, Louisiana Tech; and sophomore kick returner Kerwynn Williams, Utah State.

View All