BakersfieldChicago StateGrand CanyonKansas CityNew Mexico StateSeattle UTexas-Pan AmericanUtah Valley
Verizon WAC Football Players of the Week
Courtesy: WAC

DENVER - Nevada quarterback Colin Kaepernick, Idaho defensive end Aaron Lavarias and Idaho place kicker Trey Farquhar were named the Verizon Western Athletic Conference offensive, defensive and special teams players of the week, respectively.
Kaepernick, a senior from Turlock, Calif. (Pitman HS), accounted for 329 yards of total offense and five touchdowns in a 52-31 win over No. 24 California on Friday night.  Kaepernick completed 10-of-15 passes for 181 yards and two touchdowns with no interceptions and also rushed 17 times for 148 yards and three scores.  California entered the game ranked first nationally in total defense.
Lavarias, a senior from Woodinville, Wash. (Woodinville HS), had four tackles, including three for a loss of 18 yards and a forced fumble in Idaho's 30-7 win over Idaho on Saturday.  Lavarias had two sacks including one early in the third quarter in which he also forced a fumble that was recovered by the Vandals.  He also had one quarterback hurry causing an incompletion in the fourth quarter.

Farquhar, a sophomore from Redlands, Calif. (Redlands East Valley HS), hit all three of his field goal attempts and was 3-for-3 in extra points in the win against UNLV.  In the first quarter, Farquhar nailed a 50-yard field goal and then added a 44- and 27-yarder in the second half.  He also had seven kickoffs that went into the end zone.

Others nominated on offense: junior quarterback Kellen Moore, Boise State; sophomore running back A.J. Ellis, Fresno State; senior center Clell Hasenbank, Idaho; junior quarterback Matt Christian, New Mexico State; and senior quarterback Jordan La Secla, San Jose State.

Also nominated on defense: senior safety Winston Venable, Boise State; sophomore safety Phillip Thomas, Fresno State; junior linebacker Corey Paredes, Hawai'i; sophomore safety Marlon Johnson, Nevada; sophomore cornerback Ronnie Yell, San Jose State; and junior linebacker Bobby Wagner, Utah State.
Other special teams nominations included: senior place kicker Kyle Brotzman, Boise State; sophomore punter Andrew Shapiro, Fresno State; and freshman place kicker Anthony Martinez, Nevada.

View All