BakersfieldChicago StateGrand CanyonKansas CityNew Mexico StateSeattle UTexas-Pan AmericanUtah Valley
Verizon WAC Football Players of the Week
Courtesy: WAC

DENVER - Boise State quarterback Kellen Moore, Fresno State defensive tackle Logan Harrell and Boise State place kicker Kyle Brotzman were named the Verizon Western Athletic Conference offensive, defensive and special teams players of the week, respectively.

Moore, a junior from Prosser, Wash. (Prosser HS), threw three touchdown passes, including one with 1:09 left, to give Boise State a 33-30 victory over sixth-ranked Virginia Tech on Monday night.  Moore was 23-of-38 for 215 yards with no interceptions.  Trailing 30-26, Moore led the Broncos to a score in the final minutes by completing 4-of 5 passes for 56 yards and the winning 13-yard touchdown pass to Austin Pettis.

Harrell, a junior from Santa Margarita, Calif. (Santa Margarita HS), had a career-high four quarterback sacks in Fresno State's 28-14 win over Cincinnati.  Harrell had a total of five tackles, including 4.5 for a loss, forced a fumble and batted down a pass.  He helped hold Cincinnati to just 15 rushing yards in the game and its lowest scoring output since the 2008 season.

Brotzman, a senior from Meridian, Idaho (Meridian HS), made two of three field goals and punted twice for a 45.0-yard average in the Broncos win over Virginia Tech.  After the Hokies scored in the second quarter, Brotzman responded with a 47-yard field goal to give the Broncos a 20-7 lead.  It was the longest field goal by a WAC player this past weekend.  He also added a 52-yard punt late in the fourth quarter that backed Virginia Tech up on their own seven-yard line.

Others nominated on offense: senior quarterback Ryan Colburn, Fresno State; slot receiver Kealoha Pilares, Hawai'i; senior quarterback Nathan Enderle, Idaho; senior quarterback Colin Kaepernick, Nevada; and senior quarterback Diondre Borel, Utah State.

Also nominated on defense: junior defensive end Shea McClellin, Boise State; senior safety Mana Silva, Hawai'i; senior safety Shiloh Keo, Idaho; junior defensive lineman Matt Broha, Louisiana Tech; and junior linebacker Kyle Gallagher, Utah State.

Other special teams nominations included: sophomore punter Andrew Shapiro, Fresno State; senior place kicker Scott Enos, Hawai'i; senior wide receiver Eric Greenwood, Idaho; sophomore kick returner Mike Ball; and senior punter Peter Caldwell, Utah State.


View All