BakersfieldChicago StateGrand CanyonKansas CityNew Mexico StateSeattle UTexas-Pan AmericanUtah Valley
Verizon WAC Football Players of the Week
Courtesy: WAC

DENVER - San Jose State wide receiver Chandler Jones, Nevada cornerback Khalid Wooten and San Jose State defensive end Travis Johnson were named the Verizon Western Athletic Conference offensive, defensive and special teams players of the week, respectively.

Jones, a sophomore from Los Angeles, Calif. (Bishop Montgomery HS), scored three touchdowns in San Jose State's 28-27 win over Hawai'i.  He opened the scoring for the Spartans on a 20-yard reverse in the second quarter and then scooped up a fumble on a kick return and ran it in for a touchdown later in the half.  In the fourth quarter, Jones caught a 37-yard pass with 36 seconds remaining to give San Jose State it's final margin of victory.  Jones came into the game with just one career touchdown.  He finished the night with three receptions for 85 yards.

Wooten, a junior from Rialto, Calif. (Carter HS), recorded six tackles, forced two fumbles and picked off a pass in Nevada's 49-7 win over New Mexico.  In the first quarter, Wooten forced his first fumble which was returned 25 yards for a Nevada touchdown.  His interception in the third quarter led to a Nevada touchdown on the ensuing possession.  Wooten helped Nevada to hold New Mexico to just 89 passing yards in the game.

Johnson, a junior from Sunnyvale, Calif. (The King's Academy), blocked two kicks in San Jose State's win over Hawai'i.  Early in the fourth quarter, Hawai'i increased its lead to 27-20 following a touchdown.  On the ensuing extra point attempt, Johnson blocked the kick which was picked up and returned by Duke Ihenacho for the Spartans' first-ever two-point defensive PAT.  Later in the quarter, he blocked a 42-yard field goal attempt with 3:22 remaining to keep the score at 27-22 giving San Jose State the opportunity to score the go-ahead touchdown at the end of the game.

Others nominated on offense: sophomore wide receiver Jalen Saunders, Fresno State; freshman running back Joey Iosefa, Hawai'i; senior running back Princeton McCarty, Idaho; freshman quarterback Cody Fajardo, Nevada; junior running back Kenny Turner, New Mexico State; and junior running back Robert Turbin, Utah State.

Also nominated on defense: junior defensive lineman Tristan Okpalaugo, Fresno State; senior safety Richard Torres, Hawai'i; senior safety Donyae Coleman, New Mexico State; senior safety Duke Ihenacho, San Jose State; and junior safety McKade Brady, Utah State.

Other special teams nominations included: junior tight end Marcel Jensen, Fresno State; junior punt returner Justin Veltung, Idaho; senior defensive back Bubba Boudreaux, Nevada; senior kick returner Taveon Rogers, New Mexico State; and junior punter Tyler Bennett, Utah State.


View All