BakersfieldChicago StateGrand CanyonKansas CityNew Mexico StateSeattle UTexas-Pan AmericanUtah Valley
Verizon WAC Football Players of the Week
Courtesy: WAC

DENVER - Hawai'i quarterback Bryant Moniz, Fresno State linebacker Travis Brown and Fresno State placekicker Kevin Goessling were named the Verizon Western Athletic Conference offensive, defensive and special teams players of the week, respectively.

Moniz, a senior from Wahiawa, O'ahu (Fresno City College), set a new school record and tied an NCAA record with seven touchdown passes in the first half of a 56-14 win over UC Davis.  Moniz also set a new school record with 424 passing yards in a half.  He was 30-of-40 and completed his first eight passes in the game for 164 yards.  Moniz did not play in the second half of the game, but his 424 passing yards are the eighth most by any quarterback in the nation in a game this year.

Brown, a junior from Fresno, Calif. (Clovis West HS), had a career-high 11 tackles in Fresno State's 48-24 win at Idaho.  Brown led the Bulldog defense that allowed just 55 yards of total offense in the second half and 44 yards rushing for the whole game.

Goessling, a senior from Placentia, Calif. (Servite HS), made all six of his extra point attempts and both field goal attempts in the win at Idaho.  Both field goals were good from 48 yards out and came in the first and third quarters.  Goessling is now fourth in WAC history with 56 field goals made in his career.

Others nominated on offense: sophomore quarterback Derek Carr, Fresno State; junior wide receiver Quinton Patton, Louisiana Tech; freshman quarterback Cody Fajardo, Nevada; junior running back Kenny Turner, New Mexico State; senior running back Brandon Rutley, San Jose State; and junior running back Robert Turbin, Utah State.

Also nominated on defense: senior linebacker Corey Paredes, Hawai'i; senior linebacker Adrien Cole, Louisiana Tech; senior defensive tackle Brett Roy, Nevada; senior defensive back Courtney Viney, New Mexico State; senior linebacker Pompey Festejo, San Jose State; and senior linebacker Bobby Wagner, Utah State.

Other special teams nominations included: junior punter Ryan Allen, Louisiana Tech; and junior punter Tyler Bennett, Utah State.


View All