BakersfieldChicago StateGrand CanyonKansas CityNew Mexico StateSeattle UTexas-Pan AmericanUtah Valley
2015 WAC Baseball Tournament on WDN
This Week in WAC Swimming and Diving - Feb. 28
Courtesy: WAC

2012 WAC Swimming and Diving Championship Results

Team Results
1. San Jose State - 728
2. Northern Arizona - 622
3. Hawai’i - 524
4. New Mexico State - 429
5. Nevada - 377
6. Fresno State - 364
7. Idaho - 318
8. North Dakota - 206

Individual Awards
Swimmer of the Year: Marissa DeWames, Jr., San Jose State
Diver of the Year: Grace Huang, So., Nevada
Freshman of the Year: Aliena Schmidtke, Fr., New Mexico State
Coach of the Year: Sage Hopkins, San Jose State
Diving Coach of the Year: Jian Li You, Nevada

Fresno State Bulldogs (4-6)

Fresno State placed sixth at the WAC Championship, Feb. 22-25, scoring 364 points ... the Bulldogs were led by sophomore diver Hannah Prigge, who earned the victory in the platform diving competition, scoring a 285.15 ... she is the first WAC Champion under head coach Jeanne Fleck ... Prigge also added a third-place finish in the 3-meter diving competition, scoring a school-record 317.05 ... freshman Courtney Sheehan finished fourth in the 1650 freestyle with a lifetime-best time of 16.55.85 ... freshman Lucy Titchin broke the Fresno State school record in the 200 Freestyle, with a time of 1:50.37 ... sophomore Brittany Buna borke the school-record in the 400 IM, where she timed in at 4:24.07.

Hawai‘i Rainbow Wahine (0-3)
Hawai’i placed third at the WAC Championship, Feb. 22-25, scoring 524 points ... Sofia Djelic led the Rainbow Wahine with a strong finish to win the 100 yard butterfly in 54.34 seconds ...  she also placed third in the 500 free with an NCAA provisional time of 4:54.24 ... senior Christa Prior won the 100 backstroke ith a come from behind finish, clocking a personal best time of 54.07 ... senior Daniella Nero scored a personal best of 343.75 in the 3-meter event to win her first ever WAC title ... the 200 freestyle relay team of Jasmine Alkhaldi, Rachel Cote, Prior, and Mustelin finished with a time of 1:31.56, just over one second behind winner San Jose State.

Idaho Vandals (3-4-1)
Idaho finished seventh at the WAC Championship, Feb. 22-25, scoring 318 points ... in the 400-yard freestyle relay, Rachel Millet, Megan Venlos, Erica Anderson and Si Jia Pang placed fourth, finishing the race in 3:25.65 ... Millet, a freshman, took nearly a second off her school record in the 200 freestyle, as she finished sixth with a time of 1:49.69 ... junior Paige Hunt finished sixth and sophomore Mairin Jameson was eighth in the 1-meter diving competition ... Hunt also finished eighth in the 3-meter diving competition ... junior Kelsi Saxe finished the 100 breaststroke in 1:03.17, to top JoJo Miller’s school record of 1:04.39 and earn a fifth place finish.

Nevada Wolf Pack (7-1)
Nevada finished fifth at the WAC Championship, Feb. 22-25, finishing with 377 points ... junior Jojo Mi won the 1,650-yard freestyle with a time of 16:33.57, two seconds faster than her winning time from last year ... Mi also won the 500-yard freestyle for the third consecutive year, taking the race with a time of 4:46.21 ... she finished second in the 200-meter freestyle with a time of 1:46.76 ...  Grace Huang won the 1-meter diving competition, with a score of 305.30, and was second, for the second-straight year, in the 3-meter competition, with 331.20 points ... Huang was named Diver of the Year, and Jian Li You was named Diving Coach of the Year.

New Mexico State Aggies (3-6-1)
New Mexico State finished fourth at the WAC Championship, Feb. 22-25, scoring 429 points ... Aliena Schmidtke was named Freshman of the Year ...  Schmidtke won the 200 freestyle, collected runner-up honors in the 50 free (22.82), 100 free (49.28), both school-record performances and NCAA provisional-qualifying times ... the Aggies broke 9 different school records at the meet ... in the 200 backstroke, sophomores Tricia Kiss and Terrin Seaver both broke the school record ... Kiss earned a bronze (1:58.81) with an NCAA ‘B’ cut, while Seaver followed in fifth place (1:59.99) ... freshman Jessica Legge claimed third place in the 200 breaststroke (2:15.47) with an NCAA ‘B’ cut time.

North Dakota Fighting Sioux (6-8)
North Dakota finished in eighth at the WAC Championships, Feb. 22-25, scoring 206 points ... sophomore Morgan Lynch started things off with a record swim in the 1,650 free, with a time of 17:14.48 ... junior Veronica Medon broke her previous record of 56.06 in the 200 backstroke, set last season with a time of 55.62, for sixth place ... in the the 500 free, sophomore Morgan Lynch (Elk River, Minn.) touched at 4:57.69 for 10th place, breaking Natalia Busso’s school record of 4:58.06 set in 2009 ... the 200 free relay team of freshman Rachael Wessman, sophomore Kelsey Richels, Medon, and junior Kara Fisher nabbed the third-place finish, with a season-best time of 1:34.39.

Northern Arizona Lumberjacks (7-5)
Northern Arizona finished second at the WAC Championship, Feb. 22-25, scoring 622 points ... junior Fi Connell won the 100 and 200 backstroke events, and added a silver medal in the 200 individual medley ... sophomore Rachel Palmer and sophomore Fi Connell each won two events at the championship ... Palmer won the 200 fly and the 400 IM ... sophomore Emma Lowther took second in the mile in 16:36.50, the second fastest time in program history, second in the 500 free, and added a third-place finish in the 200 free, setting a school record in the process ... junior Kristy Ardavanis finished second in the 1-meter diving competition and fourth in the 3-meter dive.

San Jose State Spartans (8-2)
San Jose State placed first at the WAC Championship, Feb. 22-25, scoring 728 points, 106 more than the second-place team ... this was the first WAC Swimming and Diving title for the Spartans ... Head Coach Sage Hopkins was named Coach of the Year ... junior Marissa DeWames was named Swimmer of the Year ... DeWames was a champion in five different events during the meet, setting three individual school records and was part of four school record-setting relay teams ... in all, San Jose State set 10 school records and swam 14 NCAA “B” standard times over four days at the championship ... senior Kirsten Trammell won two individual events, the 100 breaststroke and 200 backstroke.

View All
CSU Bakersfield -
Grand Canyon -
New Mexico State -
North Dakota -
Northern Arizona -
Northern Colorado -
Seattle U -