BakersfieldChicago StateGrand CanyonKansas CityNew Mexico StateSeattle UTexas-Pan AmericanUtah Valley
2015 WAC Baseball Tournament on WDN
Brennan Wins Sammy Baugh Trophy
Courtesy: WAC

COLUMBUS, Ohio - Hawai'i quarterback Colt Brennan, who currently leads the nation in nearly every statistical category, was named the 2006 recipient of the Sammy Baugh Award, announced by the Touchdown Club of Columbus earlier today. The award is presented annually to the nation's top passer.

Brennan, who is on the verge of breaking the NCAA record for touchdown passes in one season, led the Warriors to a 10-3 record and a Christmas Eve date in the Sheraton Hawai'i Bowl against Arizona State. Brennan completed 72% of his passes in 2006 and is likely to become the only college quarterback to throw for more than 5000 yards. The junior from Irvine, Calif., needs only one touchdown pass in the bowl game to break the NCAA season record of 54.
The award was first presented in 1959 and has been held by legendary players including Steve Young, John Elway, Daunte Culpepper, and last year's winner, Notre Dame quarterback Brady Quinn.  He is the ninth WAC quarterback to win the award and first since Fresno State's David Carr in 2001.

Brennan will be presented with the prestigious Sammy Baugh Trophy at the Touchdown Club of Columbus 52nd Annual Sports Banquet scheduled for Saturday, February 10, 2007 at the Lifestyle Communities Pavilion in Downtown Columbus. For additional information, visit www.touchdownclubofcolumbus.com.

View All