BakersfieldChicago StateGrand CanyonKansas CityNew Mexico StateSeattle UTexas-Pan AmericanUtah Valley
All-WAC Football Teams Announced
Courtesy: WAC
DENVER – The Western Athletic Conference announced its all-WAC teams and coach and players of the year awards as voted upon by the WAC’s nine head coaches.  Nevada led the league with six first-team all-WAC honorees, while Boise State placed five on the first team and Hawai‘i and Louisiana Tech each placed four.  Nevada’s Colin Kaepernick was named the Offensive Player of the Year, Hawai‘i’s Solomon Elimimian and San Jose State’s Jarron Gilbert shared Defensive Player of the Year honors, and Boise State quarterback Kellen Moore was named the Freshman of the Year.  Boise State’s Chris Petersen was voted the WAC’s Coach of the Year.
Kaepernick, a sophomore quarterback from Turlock, Calif. (Pittman HS), leads the WAC in total offense with 299.5 yards per game and is tied for the WAC lead in touchdowns scored with 16.  He has thrown for 2,479 yards and 19 touchdowns while rushing for 1,115 yards and 16 scores to rank tied for 10th in the nation in points reponsible for with 17.5 per game.  He is the fifth different player in NCAA history to pass for more than 2,000 yards and run for 1,000 yards in a season.  Kaepernick has thrown just five interceptions and has a 132.4 passing efficiency rating.  He was named the WAC’s Freshman of the Year last season.  This is Nevada’s second Offensive Player of the Year award as running back B.J. Mitchell won it in 2005.
Elimimian, a senior linebacker from Los Angeles, Calif. (Crenshaw HS), is sixth in the WAC in tackles this season with 8.4 per game.  He has 101 (53 solo), including 9.5 for a loss of 33 yards (3 sacks).  He has also broken up four passes, recovered a fumble and forced a fumble on the season.  Earlier this year, he became Hawai‘i’s all-time leading tackler and currently has 414 in his career with two games left.  This is Hawai‘i’s third Defensive Player of the Year award as tackle Al Noga won it in 1986 and end Travis LaBoy earned the honor in 2003.
Gilbert, a senior defensive end from Chino, Calif. (Chino HS), tied the WAC single-season record with 22.0 tackles for a loss and leads the nation in that category.  He has 52 tackles this year (36 solo), including 9.5 sacks for a loss of 74 yards – tied for the second most in the WAC.  Gilbert has also broken up three passes and forced two fumbles.  This is San Jose State’s first Defensive Player of the Year award.
Moore, a freshman quarterback from Prosser, Wash. (Prosser HS), began the season as the Broncos’ starting quarterback and led Boise State to a 12-0 record.  He leads the WAC and is 11th in the nation in passing efficiency with a 161.5 rating.  Moore has completed 70 percent of his passes (259-of-370) for 3,264 yards and 25 touchdowns.  He is second in the WAC in total offense with 270.3 yards per game.  This is Boise State’s first Freshman of the Year award.
Petersen earned his first WAC Coach of the Year award after directing Boise State to a perfect 12-0 record and the Broncos’ sixth WAC title in seven years.  Petersen has racked up a record of 35-3 (23-1 WAC) in three seasons with Boise State.  It is the third Coach of the Year award for a Boise State head coach as Dan Hawkins won it in both 2002 and 2004.
Repeat first team all-WAC selections from last year include Boise State wide receiver Jeremy Childs, Hawai‘i offensive lineman John Estes, Nevada offensive lineman Dominic Green, Hawai‘i linebacker Solomon Elimimian, Hawai‘i linebacker Adam Leonard and Louisiana Tech defensive back Antonio Baker.
Boise State placed a WAC-high six players on the second team while Fresno State and San Jose State had five apiece.

Top Individual Awards
Offensive Player of the Year – Colin Kaepernick, So., QB, Nevada
Co-Defensive Players of the Year – Solomon Elimimian, Sr., LB, Hawai‘i and Jarron Gilbert, Sr., DT, San Jose State
Freshman of the Year – Kellen Moore, QB, Boise State
Coach of the Year – Chris Petersen, Boise State
Pos Name, School, Ht., Wt., Year
WR *Jeremy Childs, Boise State, 6-0, 196, Jr.
WR Marko Mitchell, Nevada, 6-4, 200, Sr.
WR %$Chris Williams, New Mexico State, 5-8, 157, Sr.
TE Eddie Williams, Idaho, 6-1, 249, Sr.
OL Andrew Woodruff, Boise State, 6-2, 320, Sr.
OL Bobby Lepori, Fresno State, 6-5, 290, Sr.
OL *John Estes, Hawai‘i, 6-2, 290, Jr.
OL %Adam Korby, Idaho, 6-2, 292, Sr.
OL *#Dominic Green, Nevada, 6-3, 295, Sr.
QB Colin Kaepernick, Nevada, 6-6, 215, So.
RB Daniel Porter, Louisiana Tech, 5-9, 189, Jr.
RB Vai Taua, Nevada, 5-10, 225, So.
Pos Name, School, Ht., Wt., Year
DL Ryan Winterswyk, Boise State, 6-4, 258, So.
DL D’Anthony Smith, Louisiana Tech, 6-2, 292, Jr.
DL Kevin Basped, Nevada, 6-6, 240, So.
DL %Jarron Gilbert, San Jose State, 6-6, 280, Sr.
LB Ellis Powers, Boise State, 5-10, 200, Sr.
LB *Solomon Elimimian, Hawai‘i, 6-0, 220, Sr.
LB *#Adam Leonard, Hawai‘i, 6-0, 235, Sr.
LB Duke Ihenacho, San Jose State, 6-1, 200, So.
DB %Kyle Wilson, Boise State, 5-10, 185, Jr.
DB Ryan Mouton, Hawai‘i, 5-10, 180, Sr.
DB *Antonio Baker, Louisiana Tech, 5-11, 200, Jr.
DB %Christopher Owens, San Jose State, 5-10, 170, Sr.
Pos Name, School, Ht., Wt., Year
PK Brett Jaekle, Nevada, 6-4, 210, Sr.
P T.J. Conley, Idaho, 6-3, 216, Sr.
ST Phillip Livas, Louisiana Tech, 5-8, 170, So.
WR Austin Pettis, So., Boise State
WR Michael Washington, Sr., Hawai‘i
WR David Richmond, Sr., San Jose State
TE *Bear Pascoe, Sr., Fresno State
OL Andrew Jackson, So., Fresno State
OL Mike Iupati, Jr., Idaho
OL Rob McGill, So., Louisiana Tech
OL Alonzo Durham, Jr., Nevada
OL Mike Gallett, So., Nevada
OL Richie Bolin, Sr., New Mexico State
OL Brennan McFadden, Jr., Utah State
QB Kellen Moore, Fr., Boise State
RB *$Ian Johnson, Sr., Boise State
RB #@Yonus Davis, Sr., San Jose State
DL Mike T. Williams, Sr., Boise State
DL *David Veikune, Sr., Hawai‘i
DL Keala Watson, Sr., Hawai‘i
DL Dontay Moch, So., Nevada
DL Carl Ihenacho, Jr., San Jose State
LB Chris Carter, So., Fresno State
LB Ben Jacobs, So., Fresno State
LB Justin Cole, Jr., San Jose State
LB %Jake Hutton, Sr., Utah State
LB Paul Igboeli, Jr., Utah State
DB Jeron Johnson, So., Boise State
DB Moses Harris, Jr., Fresno State
DB Derrick Richardson, Sr., NMSU
DB Coye Francies, Sr., San Jose State
PK Tino Amancio, Sr., Idaho
P *Chris Keagle, Sr., Louisiana Tech
P Brad Langley, So., Nevada
ST Kyle Wilson, Jr., Boise State
*2007 First-Team All-WAC Selection
%2007 Second-Team All-WAC Selection
$2006 First-Team All-WAC Selection
#2006 Second-Team All-WAC Selection
@2005 Second-Team All-WAC Selection
View All