BakersfieldChicago StateGrand CanyonKansas CityNew Mexico StateSeattle UTexas-Pan AmericanUtah Valley
2014 WAC Women's Tennis Award Winners Announced
Courtesy: WAC
DENVER – The 2014 Western Athletic Conference women’s tennis award winners, as selected by the league’s head coaches, were announced Wednesday. Idaho’s Victoria Lozano was named WAC Player of the Year, Idaho’s Galina Bykova was named Freshman of the Year and Idaho’s Jeff Beaman earned Coach of the Year honors.

Lozano, a senior from Guadalajara, Mexico, went 17-6 overall in singles on the season, with all but two wins coming at the No. 1 position. She went 2-0 in the WAC Tournament, helping the Vandals claim the title. She was named WAC Women’s Tennis Athlete of the Month in October and was the WAC Women’s Tennis Athlete of the Week on two occasions during the season. Lozano was also named first team All-WAC in singles and doubles.

Bykova, from St. Petersburg, Russia, went 18-5 overall and earned two wins in WAC tournament play, primarily in the No. 3 singles slot. She earned a WAC Player of the Week honor the week of Feb. 10-16 and was first team All-WAC in singles and second team All-WAC in doubles.

In his ninth season, Beaman led the Vandals to a 19-5 mark, including their first-ever WAC Tournament title. He also earned WAC Men’s Tennis Coach of the Year honors this season.

2014 WAC Women’s Tennis Award Winners

First Team All-WAC Singles
Priscilla Annoual, Grand Canyon
Galina Bykova, Idaho
Victoria Lozano, Idaho
Tatum Prudhomme, Grand Canyon
Dimitra Stavrianakou, Kansas City
Kirsa Utech, Chicago State

First Team All-WAC Doubles
Priscilla Annoual/Tatum Prudhomme, Grand Canyon
Janaki Gunuganti/Frederique Van de Velde, Grand Canyon
Victoria Lozano/Almudena Sanz, Idaho

Second Team All-WAC Singles
Susana Alcaraz, New Mexico State
Reegan Greenwood, Texas-Pan American
Janaki Gunuganti, Grand Canyon
Almudena Sanz, Idaho
Ashvarya Shrivastava, New Mexico State
Kelli Woodman, Seattle U

Second Team All-WAC Doubles
Amelie Amsallem/Dimitra Stavrianakou, Kansas City
Belen Barcenilla/Sophie Vickers, Idaho
Rita Bermudez/Galina Bykova, Idaho

WAC Player of the Year: Victoria Lozano, Idaho
WAC Freshman of the Year: Galina Bykova, Idaho
WAC Coach of the Year: Jeff Beaman, Idaho

View All
Grand Canyon
New Mexico State
Texas-Pan American
Seattle U
Chicago State
Chicago State -
Grand Canyon -
New Mexico State -
Seattle U -