BakersfieldChicago StateGrand CanyonKansas CityNew Mexico StateSeattle UTexas-Pan AmericanUtah Valley
2014 WAC Men's Tennis Award Winners Announced
Courtesy: WAC
DENVER – The 2014 Western Athletic Conference men’s tennis award winners, as selected by the league’s head coaches, were announced Wednesday. Idaho’s Jose Bendeck was named WAC Player of the Year, Grand Canyon’s Adrian Legarreta was named Freshman of the Year and Idaho’s Jeff Beaman earned Coach of the Year honors.

Bendeck, a senior from Barranquilla, Colombia, went 13-10 overall on the season in singles, playing primarily at the No. 1 and No. 2 positions, and helped Idaho claim the WAC Tournament title. Along with partner Cristobal Ramos Salazar, Bendeck went 13-3 in doubles dual matches, all at the No. 1 position, and won the ITA Mountain Regional doubles draw to earn a berth in the National Indoor Intercollegiate Championships. Bendeck was named WAC Men’s Tennis Athlete of the Month in October and November, and was the WAC Men’s Tennis Athlete of the Week two times.

Legarreta, from Bilbao, Spain, went 12-7 overall in singles, primarily in the No. 3 position. He earned a WAC Player of the Week honor the week Feb. 17-23 and was a first team All-WAC selection in singles.

In his ninth season, Beaman led the Vandals to an 11-13 overall mark, including their first-ever WAC Tournament title. He was also named WAC Women’s Tennis Coach of the Year this season.

2014 WAC Men’s Tennis Award Winners

First Team All-WAC Singles
Jose Bendeck, Idaho
Adrian Legarreta, Grand Canyon
Kevin Lynch, Seattle U
Nicolas Moulin, Grand Canyon
Artemiy Nikitin, Idaho
Strahinja Trecakov, New Mexico State

First Team All-WAC Doubles
Jose Bendeck/Cristobal Ramos Salazar, Idaho
Naveen Manivannan/Marc Westgate, New Mexico State
Tomas Patino/Mike Psarros, Kansas City

Second Team All-WAC Singles
Benjamin Collomb, Grand Canyon
Paul Denele, New Mexico State
Naveen Manivannan, New Mexico State
Sergiu Muresan, Chicago State
Cristobal Ramos Salazar, Idaho
Chetan Panditi, Texas-Pan American
Tomas Patino, Kansas City

Second Team All-WAC Doubles
Paul Denele/Patrick Pfister, New Mexico State
Jason Bediones/Kevin Lynch, Seattle U
Artemiy Nikitin/Cesar Torres, Idaho
Benjamin Collomb/Alex Roggenkamp, Grand Canyon

WAC Player of the Year: Jose Bendeck, Idaho
WAC Freshman of the Year: Adrian Legarreta, Grand Canyon
WAC Coach of the Year: Jeff Beaman, Idaho

View All
New Mexico State
Texas-Pan American
Grand Canyon
Chicago State
Seattle U
Chicago State -
Grand Canyon -
New Mexico State -
Seattle U -