BakersfieldChicago StateGrand CanyonKansas CityNew Mexico StateSeattle UTexas-Pan AmericanUtah Valley
2013 WAC Men's Tennis Award Winners Announced
Courtesy: WAC
DENVER – The 2013 Western Athletic Conference men’s tennis award winners, as selected by the league’s head coaches, were announced tonight at the WAC Tennis Tournament banquet. Denver’s Enej Bonin was named WAC Player of the Year, New Mexico State’s Daniel Fernandez was named Freshman of the Year and Idaho’s Jeff Beamer earned Coach of the Year honors.

Bonin, who is currently ranked No. 55 nationally, went 20-7 overall on the season. He posted a 4-1 mark vs. WAC opponents and is 7-7 on the season vs. ranked opponents. He was named WAC Men’s Tennis Athlete of the Month in October and was the WAC Men’s Tennis Athlete of the Week for January 21-27. 

Fernandez, went 22-9 overall and 4-0 in WAC play, primarily in the No. 2 singles slot. On the season he earned a WAC Player of the Week honor the week of April 8-14 and was first team All-WAC in singles.

In his eighth season, Beaman led the Vandals to a 20-6 mark, including a 4-1 record against WAC opponents. His team spent a majority of the season in the ITA rankings, appearing as high as No. 57.

2013 WAC Men’s Tennis Award Winners

First Team All-WAC Singles
Joel Rubio, UTSA
Jens Vorkefeld, Denver
Abid Akbar, Idaho
Dmitry Perevoshchikov, Idaho
Daniel Fernandez, New Mexico State
Enej Bonin, Denver

First Team All-WAC Doubles
Max Krammer/Fabio Biasion, Denver
Abid Akbar/Marius Cirstea, Idaho
Enej Bonin/Jens Vorkefeld, Denver

Second Team All-WAC Singles
Marius Cirstea, Idaho
Luis Ramirez, New Mexico
Sven Poslusny, Utah State
Jose Bendeck, Idaho
Max Krammer, Denver
David Kelleher, UTSA

Second Team All-WAC Doubles
Luis Ramirez/Marc Westgate, New Mexico State
Jose Bendeck/Cristobal Ramos, Idaho
Carlos Arbiza/Yauheni Yakauleu, UT Arlington

WAC Player of the Year: Enej Bonin, Denver
WAC Freshman of the Year: Daniel Fernandez, New Mexico State
WAC Coach of the Year: Jeff Beaman, Idaho
View All
New Mexico State
Texas-Pan American
Grand Canyon
Chicago State
Seattle U
Chicago State -
Grand Canyon -
New Mexico State -
Seattle U -