BakersfieldChicago StateGrand CanyonKansas CityNew Mexico StateSeattle UTexas-Pan AmericanUtah Valley
2015 WAC Baseball Tournament on WDN
New Mexico State Wins WAC Men's Golf Title
Courtesy: WAC

VIDEO: Individual WAC champion Paul McConnell of UT Arlington

New Mexico State coach Mike Dirks

New Mexico State won its sixth WAC title at the WAC Men's Golf Championship at Rio Secco Golf Club in Henderson, Nev. The Aggies carded a three-round total of 887 to win by six strokes over UT Arlington.

UT Arlington senior Paul McConnell won the individual title. McConnell shot a 3-under par 69 in the final round to card a 2-over 218 for the three rounds. New Mexico State freshman Kenneth Fadke placed second (220), while San Jose State's Landon Polterock and New Mexico State's Justin Shin tied for third with a three-day total of 221.

In the rest of the team competition, UT Arlington was second (893) and San Jose State was third (900). UTSA finished fourth at 903, Idaho was fifth at 910, Utah State placed sixth (915), Denver seventh (917), Texas State was eighth (918), Seattle U ninth (930) and Louisiana Tech was tenth at 933.

Also announced today were the all-WAC teams and top awards. San Jose State's Cody Blick was voted the WAC's Player of the Year and Freshman of the Year by the 10 head coaches. Coach of the Year honors went to Mike Dirks of New Mexico State.

2012-13 Awards

First Team All-WAC
Victor Lange, Fr., Louisiana Tech
Travis Wilmore, Jr., Louisiana Tech
Justin Shin, Sr., New Mexico State
Cody Blick, Fr., San Jose State
Paul McConnell, Sr., UT Arlington

Second Team All-WAC
Ole Ramsnes, Jr., Denver
Aaron Cockerill, So., Idaho
Kenneth Fadke, Fr., New Mexico State
Justin Estrada, Sr., San Jose State
Hunter Brown, Sr., UT Arlington

Player of the Year:
Cody Blick, Fr., San Jose State
Freshman of the Year:
Cody Blick, San Jose State
Coach of the Year:
Mike Dirks, New Mexico State



Tuesday's Recap

VIDEO: New Mexico State Head Coach Mike Dirks

HENDERSON, NEV.--New Mexico State continues to lead after the second round of the WAC Men's Golf Championship. The Aggies followed up yesterday's 286 with a 298 in continuous 15-to-20 mile-per-hour winds on Tuesday at the 7,313-yard, par-72 Rio Secco Golf Club in Henderson, Nev.

UT Arlington (294-307--601) and San Jose State (296-305--601) took over a tie for second place. UTSA (293-311—604) and Utah State (292-312--604) are tied for fourth (293-311--604) after carding a 23-over par 311 and 24-over par 312, respectively in Tuesday’s windy conditions. Denver is in sixth (300-306--606), Idaho sits in seventh place (294-313--607), Texas State is eighth (302-308--610), Louisiana Tech is in ninth (305-310--615) and Seattle U is tenth (297-326--623).

New Mexico State's Kenneth Fadke (71-74--145) and Willy Hogan (70-75--145), along with UTSA's J.J. Lindsey (69-76--145) are tied for the overall lead at 1-over par. Lindsey, the leader after the first round of play, shot a 4-over par 76 on Tuesday. Fadke moved from sixth place into a tie for first after shooting a 2-over par 74, while Hogan moved from second place into the tie for first with a 3-over par 75.

NMSU's Justin Shin carded the best round of the day on Tuesday as he scored an even par 72.  The performance moved Shin from a tie for 38th place after day one to a tie for 14th place after day two.

The three-day tournament concludes on Wednesday with the final-round tee times beginning at 7 a.m.

Monday's Recap

VIDEO: New Mexico State Head Coach Mike Dirks

HENDERSON, NEV. - New Mexico State leads at 2-under par (286) after the first round of the WAC Men's Golf Championship at the 7,313-yard, par-72 Rio Secco Golf Club in Henderson, Nev. UTSA's J.J. Lindsey carded the best score of the day with a 3-under par 69 to lead by one stroke. New Mexico State has three players in the top-six as Derek Baade and Willy Hogan each shot a 2-under 70, while Kenneth Fadke shot 1-under 71.

The highlight of day one came on the front nine where first-round leader Lindsey (-3) shot a 6-under par 30, with a birdie on six of the nine holes.

Utah State shot a 4-over par 292 on the day followed by UTSA at 293 (+5). Idaho and UT Arlington each finished at 6-over par and are in a tie for fourth place with a 294. San Jose State is in sixth with 296 (+8), Seattle U in in seventh at 297 (+9), Denver is eighth at 300 (+12), Texas State ranks ninth with 302 (+14) and Louisiana Tech is tenth at 305 (+17).

The three-day tournament continues on Tuesday with second-round tee times beginning at 7 a.m.

Club Glove WAC Men's Golf Championship

Rio Secco Golf Club

Henderson, Nevada (Louisiana Tech University-host)

April 29-May 1

Click here

The 51st annual Club Glove Western Athletic Conference men's golf championship is April 29-May 1 at the 7,313-yard, par-72 Rio Secco Golf Club in Henderson, Nevada.  San Jose State won last year with a six-stroke victory over four-time defending champion New Mexico State.  Newcomer Denver the WAC in scoring average with 291.8 strokes per round with San Jose State in second (292.4).  Last year's second place finisher Justin Shin of New Mexico State returns and is third in the WAC in stroke average with 72.80 per round.  Denver's Ole Ramsnes leads the WAC in that category (72.41).  Five individuals from the WAC have claimed titles this year: Idaho's Gordon Webb, Louisiana Tech's Travis Wilmore and Victor Lange, Texas State's Torbjorn Johansen and Utah State's Tanner Higham.

Denver Pioneers
Idaho Vandals
Louisiana Tech Bulldogs
New Mexico State Aggies
San Jose State Spartans
Seattle Redhawks
UT Arlington Mavericks
UTSA Roadrunners
Texas State Bobcats
Utah State Aggies

View All
CSU Bakersfield -
Chicago State -
Grand Canyon -
New Mexico State -
Seattle U -
Utah Valley -