BakersfieldChicago StateGrand CanyonKansas CityNew Mexico StateSeattle UTexas-Pan AmericanUtah Valley
Chicago State University to Join WAC
Courtesy: WAC
DENVER - The Western Athletic Conference today announced that an invitation for membership has been issued to and accepted by Chicago State University to join the conference effective July 1, 2013.

Chicago State will become the seventh member of the conference in 2013-14, joining California State University, Bakersfield; Grand Canyon University; University of Idaho; New Mexico State University; Seattle University and Utah Valley University.
"We are pleased to welcome Chicago State University to the WAC family," said WAC Interim Commissioner Jeff Hurd. "As the Western Athletic Conference continues to evolve, we look forward to their contributions including the addition of another large media market to our league.  We are also thrilled to be able to provide Chicago State with many more championship opportunities for their student-athletes."

The Cougars will bring all 14 of its sports - baseball, men's and women's basketball, men's and women's cross country, men's and women's golf, men's and women's tennis, men's and women's indoor and outdoor track & field, and volleyball - to the WAC and will begin the process of adding both men's and women's soccer by the 2014 season.

About Chicago State University
Chicago State University was founded in 1867 with just 62 students enrolled in its first year. Today it is a nationally-accredited university with five colleges - Health Sciences, Arts and Science, Business, Education, and Pharmacy - offering 36 undergraduate and 25 graduate degree-granting programs. In addition, CSU has a Division of Continuing Education and Non-Traditional Programs that reach out to the community with extension courses, distance learning and not-for-credit programs. Consistently evolving to reflect state-of-the-art trends in higher education, Chicago State University prepares students for success in the twenty-first century. For more information, please visit

View All
CSU Bakersfield -
Chicago State -
Grand Canyon -
New Mexico State -
Seattle U -
Utah Valley -