BakersfieldChicago StateGrand CanyonKansas CityNew Mexico StateSeattle UTexas-Pan AmericanUtah Valley
WAC Announces Men's Basketball Coaches Preseason Picks

DENVER – The Western Athletic Conference announced its men’s basketball preseason poll and all-WAC teams, as voted on by the eight head coaches in the league. Nevada was selected to win the WAC, while Nevada sophomore Deonte Burton was tabbed the league’s preseason Player of the Year.

Nevada received five first place votes and 46 points. New Mexico State captured second place with 41 points. Utah State took third place with 38 points and three first place votes. With 32 points, Hawai‘i secured the fourth spot. Idaho (24) and Fresno State (18) followed closely behind in fifth and sixth place, respectively. San Jose State (14) and Louisiana Tech (11) finished seventh and eighth, respectively.

Burton, the coaches’ pick for preseason Player of the Year, was named the WAC’s Freshman of the Year last season after he led the Wolf Pack in assists (3.53) and ranked second on the team in scoring (13.7 ppg).

The coaches also voted on preseason first and second all-WAC teams. Burton led the list of first-teamers. Hawai‘i senior center Vander Joaquim and senior guard Zane Johnson also earned spots on the preseason first team. New Mexico State senior forward Wendell McKines and Utah State senior guard Brockeith Pane round out the first team selections.
Second-team selections include Kyle Barone (Idaho), Dario Hunt (Nevada), Hernst Laroche (New Mexico State), Brady Jardine (Utah State) and Malik Story (Nevada).

2011-12 Preseason Men’s Basketball Coaches Poll

Rank Teams (1st Place Votes)  Points
  1. Nevada (5)                   46
  2. New Mexico State             41
  3. Utah State (3)               38
  4. Hawai‘i                      32
  5. Idaho                        24
  6. Fresno State                 18
  7. San Jose State               14
  8. Louisiana Tech               11

Preseason Coaches All-WAC Teams
First Team                             
Deonte Burton, So., G Nevada
Vander Joaquim, Jr., C, Hawai‘i    
Zane Johnson, Sr., G, Hawai‘i          
Wendell McKines, Sr., F, New Mexico State   
Brockeith Pane, Sr., G, Utah State

Second Team                             
Kyle Barone, Jr., C, Idaho
Dario Hunt, Sr., F, Nevada     
Hernst Laroche, Sr., G, New Mexico State
Brady Jardine, Sr., F, Utah State   
Malik Story, Jr., G, Nevada

Player of the Year: Deonte Burton, Nevada

There are no standings for this sport.
CSU Bakersfield -
Chicago State -
Grand Canyon -
New Mexico State -
Seattle U -
Utah Valley -