BakersfieldChicago StateGrand CanyonKansas CityNew Mexico StateSeattle UTexas-Pan AmericanUtah Valley
2015 WAC Baseball Tournament on WDN
Verizon WAC Football Players of the Week
Courtesy: WAC

DENVER - Nevada quarterback Colin Kaepernick, Louisiana Tech safety Javontay Crowe and Boise State punt returner Chris Potter were named the Verizon Western Athletic Conference offensive, defensive and special teams players of the week, respectively.

Kaepernick, a senior from Turlock, Calif. (Pitman HS), accounted for 324 yards and two touchdowns in Nevada's 35-34 win at Fresno State.  Kaepernick completed 16-of-26 passes for 171 yards and rushed for 153 yards and two touchdowns on 16 carries.  He led Nevada on a seven-play 44-yard drive for the game-winning touchdown in the final minutes of the fourth quarter, converting two third down passes.

Crowe, a sophomore from Ruston, La. (Ruston HS), had a team-high nine tackles, including six solo, in the win at New Mexico State.  He was also credited with two pass break ups and had his first career interception which he returned for seven yards late in third quarter with Louisiana Tech holding a seven point lead.

Potter, a sophomore from Westlake Village, Calif. (Oaks Christian HS), returned a punt 76 yards for a touchdown within the first minute of the game at Idaho.  He ended the night with four punt returns for a total of 106 yards and a 26.5-yard average.  His 76-yard return tied him for the seventh-longest in school history.

Others nominated on offense: junior running back Doug Martin, Boise State; sophomore running back Robbie Rouse, Fresno State; senior wide receiver Phillip Livas, Louisiana Tech; sophomore running back Robert Clay, New Mexico State; and senior running back Derrvin Speight, Utah State.

Also nominated on defense: sophomore linebacker JC Percy, Boise State; senior safety Lorne Bell, Fresno State; senior defensive end Ryan Coulson, Nevada; junior linebacker Boyblue Aoelua, New Mexico State; and freshman cornerback Nevin Lawson, Utah State.

Other special teams nominations included: junior kicker Kevin Goessling, Fresno State; sophomore kick returner Mike Ball, Nevada; junior kick returner Taveon Rogers, New Mexico State; and sophomore kick returner Kerwynn Williams, Utah State.


View All