BakersfieldChicago StateGrand CanyonKansas CityNew Mexico StateSeattle UTexas-Pan AmericanUtah Valley
2007 All-WAC Football Teams and Individual Awards Announced
Courtesy: WAC

DENVER – The Western Athletic Conference announced its all-WAC teams and coach and players of the year awards as voted upon by the WAC’s nine head coaches.  Hawai‘i led the league with 11 first-team all-WAC honorees, while Boise State and Fresno State placed five and four, respectively, on the first team.  Hawai‘i’s Colt Brennan was named the Offensive Player of the Year for the second season in a row, Fresno State’s Marcus Riley earned Defensive Player of the Year honors, and Nevada quarterback Colin Kaepernick was named the Freshman of the Year.  For the second year in a row, Hawai‘i’s June Jones was voted the WAC’s Coach of the Year.  Also a special award was created to honor the WAC’s Offensive Unit of the Year and was given to Brennan and his four main receivers, Davone Bess, Ryan Grice-Mullen, C.J. Hawthorne and Jason Rivers.
Brennan, a senior quarterback from Irvine, Calif. (Saddleback CC), is third in the nation in passing efficiency with a rating of 166.3.  He has thrown for 4,174 yards and 38 touchdowns in leading Hawai‘i to a perfect 12-0 record in the regular season.  Brennan also has rushed for eight touchdowns to rank fourth in the nation in points responsible for with 25.1 per game.  Earlier this year, he became the NCAA all-time leader in touchdown passes and currently has 131 in his three seasons.  Brennan still has one game left in his career when the Warriors head to New Orleans for the Allstate Sugar Bowl to face Georgia on January 1.  No Hawai‘i player had ever been named the WAC’s Offensive Player of the Year until Brennan last season.

Riley, a senior linebacker from Sacramento, Calif. (Elk Grove HS), is currently fourth in the WAC and 25th in the nation in tackles this season with 10.2 per game.  He has 123 tackles (60 solo), and lead the WAC in tackles for loss with 13.0 for 35 yards.  He also forced three fumbles and intercepted one pass during the season.  The award is the third for a Fresno State defensive player as Alan Harper won it in 2001 and Garrett McIntyre in 2005.  Riley will finish his career in the Roady’s Humanitarian Bowl against Georgia Tech on December 31.

Kaepernick, a freshman quarterback from Turlock, Calif. (Pittman HS), started the last seven games of the season for the Wolf Pack and threw for 2,038 yards and 19 touchdowns with just three interceptions and added 567 rushing yards and six more touchdowns.  He is second in the WAC in passing efficiency with a rating of 161.1 and is seventh in the league in rushing with 56.7 yards per game.  This is the second freshman of the year award for a Nevada player as Chance Kretschmer won it in 2001.  Kaepernick will continue his season at the New Mexico Bowl on December 22 against the University of New Mexico.

Jones earned his third WAC Coach of the Year award (and second straight) after leading Hawai‘i to a perfect 12-0 record, the Warriors’ first ever outright WAC title and a spot in the Allstate Sugar Bowl on Jan. 1.  Jones won his first WAC Coach of the Year award in 1999 and his second last season.

Also in an unprecedented move this season, the WAC is awarding the University of Hawai‘i the Offensive Unit of the Year to recognize the record-setting season of the Warriors’ quarterback Colt Brennan and his four primary wide receivers; Jason Rivers, Davone Bess, Ryan Grice-Mullen and C.J. Hawthorne. Hawai‘i has racked up a total of 6,351 offensive yards this season, leads the nation in scoring with 46.2 points per game and has set numerous NCAA, WAC and school records.

Said WAC Commissioner Karl Benson, “Colt asked me in the locker room after the Washington game on Saturday night that if he was selected the player of the year, was there a way the WAC could share the award with his ‘boys’.  Once again, Colt impressed me with his unselfishness, and I told him I would do what I could.  On the flight back to the mainland, I thought of this way to pay tribute to Colt and these four great receivers for the season each had and how they each contributed to the Warriors’ perfect 12-0 regular season.”

Repeat first team all-WAC selections from last year include Hawai‘i wide receiver Davone Bess, Boise State offensive lineman Ryan Clady, Hawai‘i quarterback Colt Brennan, Boise State running back Ian Johnson, Idaho linebacker David Vobora and San Jose State defensive back Dwight Lowery.  Bess, a junior, is a three-time first-team all-WAC honoree.
Idaho and Louisiana Tech each placed a WAC-high five players on the second team.
First Team
Pos-Name, School, Ht., Wt., Year

WR-Jeremy Childs, Boise State, 6-0, 184, So.
WR-$*Davone Bess, Hawai‘i, 5-10, 195, Jr.
WR-Ryan Grice-Mullen, Hawai‘i, 5-11, 179, Jr.
TE-Bear Pascoe, Fresno State, 6-5, 260, Jr.
OL-*Ryan Clady, Boise State, 6-6, 319, Jr.
OL-Ryan Wendell, Fresno State, 6-2, 260, Sr.
OL-John Estes, Hawai‘i, 6-2, 290, So.
OL-Hercules Satele, Hawai‘i, 6-2, 288, Sr.
OL-%Dominic Green, Nevada, 6-3, 295, Jr.
QB-*Colt Brennan, Hawai‘i, 6-3, 196, Sr.
RB-*Ian Johnson, Boise State, 5-11, 194, Jr.
RB-Luke Lippincott, Nevada, 6-2, 215, Jr.

Pos-Name, School, Ht., Wt., Year

DL-David Veikune, Hawai‘i, 6-3, 258, Jr.
DL-%Tyler Clutts, Fresno State, 6-2, 245, Sr.
DL-Nick Schlekeway, Boise State, 6-4, 262, Sr.
DL-%Mike Lafaele, Hawai‘i, 6-0, 302, Sr.
LB-Marcus Riley, Fresno State, 6-0, 220, Sr.
LB-Solomon Elimimian, Hawai‘i, 6-0, 224, Jr.
LB-%Adam Leonard, Hawai‘i, 6-0, 236, Jr.
LB-*David Vobora, Idaho, 6-1, 240, Sr.
LB-%Matt Castelo, San Jose State, 5-10, 228, Sr.
DB-#%Marty Tadman, Boise State, 5-11, 182, Sr.
DB-Antonio Baker, Louisiana Tech, 5-11, 200, So.
DB-Myron Newberry, Hawai‘i, 5-8, 164, Sr.
DB-*Dwight Lowery, San Jose State, 6-1, 185, Sr.

Pos-Name, School, Ht., Wt., Year

PK-Dan Kelly, Hawai‘i, 6-3, 202, Jr.
P-Chris Keagle, Louisiana Tech, 6-0, 233, Jr.
ST-Kevin Robinson, Utah State, 6-0, 192, Sr.

Second Team

WR-%Jason Rivers, Sr., Hawai‘i
WR-*Chris Williams, Jr., New Mexico State
WR-Kevin Jurovich, Jr., San Jose State
TE-Adam Bishop, Sr., Nevada
OL-Tad Miller, Sr., Boise State
OL-Adam Korby, Jr., Idaho
OL-Tyler Miller, Sr., Louisiana Tech
OL-Mike Martinez, Sr., New Mexico State
OL-John Booker, Sr., San Jose State
OL-Shawn Murphy, Sr., Utah State
QB-Taylor Tharp, Sr., Boise State
RB-Deonte’ Jackson, Fr., Idaho
RB-Patrick Jackson, Jr., Louisiana Tech

DL-Josh Muse, Sr., Louisiana Tech
DL-Chris Pugh, Sr., Louisiana Tech
DL-%Matt Hines, Sr., Nevada
DL-Jarron Gilbert, Jr., San Jose State
LB-Quin Harris, Jr., Louisiana Tech
LB-*Ezra Butler, Sr., Nevada
LB-Dante Floyd, Sr., New Mexico State
LB-Jake Hutton, Jr., Utah State
DB-Kyle Wilson, So., Boise State
DB-*Stanley Franks, Sr., Idaho
DB-Shiloh Keo, So., Idaho
DB-Christopher Owens, Jr., San Jose State

PK-Kyle Brotzman, Fr., Boise State
P-Leon Jackson III, Sr., Utah State
ST-A.J. Jefferson, So., Fresno State
ST-Shiloh Keo, So., Idaho

Top Individual Awards
Offensive Player of the Year – Colt Brennan, Sr., QB, Hawai‘i
Defensive Player of the Year – Marcus Riley, Sr., LB, Fresno State
Freshman of the Year – Colin Kaepernick, QB, Nevada
Coach of the Year – June Jones, Hawai‘i

Special Award
Offensive Unit of the Year – Hawai‘i: Davone Bess, Jr., WR; Colt Brennan, Sr., QB; Ryan Grice-Mullen, Jr., WR; C.J. Hawthorne, Sr., WR; and Jason Rivers, Sr., WR

*2006 First-Team All-WAC Selection
%2006 Second-Team All-WAC Selection
$2005 First-Team All-WAC Selection
#2005 Second-Team All-WAC Selection

View All