BakersfieldChicago StateGrand CanyonKansas CityNew Mexico StateSeattle UTexas-Pan AmericanUtah Valley
2015 WAC Baseball Tournament on WDN
Four WAC Teams to Play in Televised BracketBuster Games
Courtesy: WAC
ESPN announced today live on ESPNU’s 2010 BracketBusters Selection Show the pairings for the eighth annual BracketBusters – a two-day men’s college basketball event pitting NCAA Tournament hopefuls Friday, Feb. 19, and Saturday, Feb. 20. Four WAC teams will have televised games, including Louisiana Tech, Nevada, New Mexico State and Utah State.

Louisiana Tech will travel to play Northeastern on Feb. 20 at 1 p.m. ET on ESPN2. Nevada will make the trip to Missouri State on Feb. 20 at 2 p.m. CT on ESPN2. New Mexico State travels to play Pacific on Feb. 20 at 7 p.m. PT on ESPNU. Utah State will host Wichita State at 10 p.m. MT on ESPN2.

BracketBusters will feature 11 nationally televised games live, selected from a pool of 98 teams. ESPNU, the 24-hour college sports network, will televise five BracketBusters games, and ESPN2 will televise six, all simulcast on ESPN360.com, ESPN’s customized broadband service.

2010 ESPNU BracketBusters Pairings (All Times Eastern)

Friday, Feb. 19
Old Dominion at No. 22 Northern Iowa, 7 p.m. (ESPN2 HD / ESPN360.com)
William & Mary at Iona, 9 p.m. (ESPNU)

Saturday, Feb. 20
Siena at No. 15 Butler, 11 a.m. (ESPN2/ESPN360.com)
Morgan State at Murray State, Noon (ESPNU)
Louisiana Tech at Northeastern, 1 p.m. (ESPN2/ESPN360.com)
Nevada at Missouri State, 3 p.m. (ESPN2/ESPN360.com)
Akron at Virginia Commonwealth, 4 p.m. (ESPNU)
Coll. of Charleston at George Mason, 8 p.m. (ESPN2/ESPN360.com)
Western Carolina at Kent State, 8 p.m. (ESPNU)
New Mexico State at Pacific, 10 p.m. (ESPNU)
Wichita State at Utah State, 11:59 p.m. (ESPN2/ESPN360.com)

The other five WAC teams that were not selected to compete in a BracketBusters television game will play non-conference opponents on Saturday, Feb. 20. Those matchups are as follows:

UC Santa Barbara at Fresno State
San Jose State at Montana State
Long Beach State at Idaho
UC Davis at Boise State
Cal Poly at Hawai‘i

This year’s 22 BracketBusters teams represent 10 conferences and:

  • Two ranked teams: No. 15 Butler and No. 22 Northern Iowa
  • 19 teams in the Ratings Percentage Index (RPI) top 100: No. Iowa (16); Butler (18); Siena (44); Old Dominion (46); Wichita State (48); William & Mary (51); Utah State (55); Northeastern (56); Virginia Commonwealth (60); Nevada (66); Kent State (69); Western Carolina (73); La. Tech (74); New Mexico State (82); Missouri State (84); Iona (85); Murray State (92); College of Charleston (94); Pacific (95)
  • Seven 2009 NCAA Tournament participants: Northern Iowa; Siena; Butler; Morgan Sate; Akron; Virginia Commonwealth; Utah State
  • 16 teams with 15 or more wins overall: Old Dominion; Northern Iowa; William & Mary; Iona; Siena; Butler; Morgan State; Murray State; La. Tech; Missouri State; Akron; Virginia Commonwealth; George Mason; Western Carolina; Wichita State; Utah State
  • Four teams undefeated in conference play: Butler; Siena; Morgan State and Murray State

About BracketBusters

The BracketBusters concept, named because of the success of participating teams from these conferences in NCAA Tournament play through the years, provides programs with an opportunity to play top non-conference opponents roughly three weeks before Selection Sunday. Each conference selects its participating teams before the season, and the matchups for the event are determined by ESPN in conjunction with the conferences. BracketBusters is an example of ESPN college basketball franchise programming. Others include Rivalry Week Presented by Cisco, Feast Week Presented by Lowe’s, Holiday Hoops Presented by Kay Jewelers, ESPNU Campus Connection Week, Judgment Week and Championship Week Presented by Dick’s Sporting Goods.
View All
New Mexico State
Grand Canyon
Seattle U
Utah Valley
Texas-Pan American
Chicago State
CSU Bakersfield -
Chicago State -
Grand Canyon -
New Mexico State -
Seattle U -
Utah Valley -