BakersfieldChicago StateGrand CanyonKansas CityNew Mexico StateSeattle UTexas-Pan AmericanUtah Valley
All-WAC Football Teams and Players of the Year Announced
Courtesy: WAC
DENVER - The Western Athletic Conference announced its all-WAC teams and coach and players of the year awards as voted upon by the WAC's nine head coaches. Boise State led the league with seven first-team all-WAC honorees, while Fresno State placed six on the first team and Hawai‘i, Louisiana Tech and Nevada each placed three. All nine schools were represented on the first team. Boise State's Kellen Moore was named the Offensive Player of the Year, Nevada's Dontay Moch earned Defensive Player of the Year honors, and Nevada's Brandon Wimberly was named the Freshman of the Year. Boise State's Chris Petersen was voted the WAC's Coach of the Year for the second consecutive season.

Moore, a sophomore quarterback from Prosser, Wash. (Prosser HS), leads the nation in passing efficiency with a 167.35 rating. He has completed 254-of-392 passes for 3,325 yards and 39 touchdowns with just three interceptions in leading the Broncos to a perfect 13-0 record and a berth in the Tostitos Fiesta Bowl on Jan. 4. As a starter, Moore is now 25-1 in just two seasons. He was named the WAC's Freshman of the Year last season. This is Boise State's third WAC Offensive Player of the Year award as running back Brock Forsey won it in 2002 and quarterback Ryan Dinwiddie won it a year later.

Moch, a junior defensive end from Chandler, Ariz. (Hamilton HS), leads the WAC and is eighth in the nation in tackles for loss with 19.5 for a loss of 92 yards on the season. He has a total of 57 tackles (35 solo), including 6.5 sacks for a loss of 49 yards. He has also broken up three passes and forced two fumbles on the year. Moch has helped lead the Nevada defense to first in the WAC in rushing defense and third in total defense. This is Nevada's first ever WAC Defensive Player of the Year award.

Wimberly, a redshirt-freshman wide receiver from Los Angeles, Calif. (Gardena HS), leads Nevada and is 10th in the WAC in both receptions per game (3.8) and receiving yards per game (54.4). He has caught 46 passes for 653 yards and five touchdowns. This is Nevada's third WAC Freshman of the Year award as running back Chance Kretschmer won it in 2001 and quarterback Colin Kaepernick won it in 2007.

Petersen earned his second WAC Coach of the Year award after directing Boise State to a perfect 13-0 record and the Broncos' seventh WAC title in eight years. Petersen has racked up a record of 48-4 (31-1 WAC) in four seasons with Boise State. It is the fourth Coach of the Year award for a Boise State head coach as Dan Hawkins won it in both 2002 and 2004.

Hawai‘i's John Estes made the first team for the third consecutive year. Other repeat first team all-WAC selections from last season include Nevada running back Vai Taua, Boise State defensive lineman Ryan Winterswyk, Louisiana Tech defensive lineman D'Anthony Smith, Boise State defensive back Kyle Wilson and San Jose State defensive back Duke Ihenacho.

Nevada placed a WAC-high seven players on the second team while Boise State, Fresno State and Idaho had four apiece.

Top Individual Awards
Offensive Player of the Year – Kellen Moore, So., QB, Boise State
Defensive Player of the Year – Dontay Moch, Jr., DE, Nevada
Freshman of the Year – Brandon Wimberly, WR, Nevada
Coach of the Year – Chris Petersen, Boise StateFirst Team

First Team
Pos-Name, School, Ht., Wt., Year
WR-%Austin Pettis, Boise State, 6-3, 201, Jr.
WR-Titus Young, Boise State, 5-11, 170, Jr.
WR-Greg Salas, Hawai‘i, 6-2, 200, Jr.
TE-Dennis Morris, Louisiana Tech, 6-2, 265, Sr.
OL-Nate Potter, Boise State, 6-6, 293, So.
OL-%Andrew Jackson, Fresno State, 6-5, 295, Jr.
OL-*$John Estes, Hawai‘i, 6-3, 300, Sr.
OL-%Mike Iupati, Idaho, 6-6, 330, Sr.
OL-%Alonzo Durham, Nevada, 6-4, 285, Sr.
QB-%Kellen Moore, Boise State, 6-0, 187, So.
RB-Ryan Mathews, Fresno State, 5-11, 220, Jr.
RB-*Vai Taua, Nevada, 5-10, 220, Jr.

Pos-Name, School, Ht., Wt., Year
DL-*Ryan Winterswyk, Boise State, 6-4, 263, Jr.
DL-%Chris Carter, Fresno State, 6-2, 230, Jr.
DL-*D’Anthony Smith, Louisiana Tech, 6-2, 300, Sr.
DL-%Dontay Moch, Nevada, 6-1, 245, Jr.
LB-%Ben Jacobs, Fresno State, 6-3, 225, Jr.
LB-Blaze Soares, Hawai‘i, 6-1, 245, Sr.
LB-Adrien Cole, Louisiana Tech, 5-11, 240, So.
LB-Bobby Wagner, Utah State, 6-1, 217, So.
DB-*#Kyle Wilson, Boise State, 5-10, 186, Sr.
DB-#Shiloh Keo, Idaho, 5-11, 211, Jr.
DB-Davon House, New Mexico State, 6-0, 178, Jr.
DB-*Duke Ihenacho, San Jose State, 6-1, 210, Jr.

Pos-Name, School, Ht., Wt., Year
PK-Kevin Goessling, Fresno State, 6-0, 195, So.
P-Robert Malone, Fresno State, 6-2, 215, Sr.
ST-Titus Young, Boise State, 5-11, 170, Jr.

Second Team
WR-Seyi Ajirotutu, Sr., Fresno State
WR-Max Komar, Sr., Idaho
WR-Brandon Wimberly, Fr., Nevada
WR-Kevin Jurovich, Sr., San Jose State
TE-Virgil Green, Jr., Nevada
OL-Kenny Wiggins, Jr., Fresno State
OL-Aaron Kia, Sr., Hawai‘i
OL-Irv Stevens, Sr., Idaho
OL-%Rob McGill, Jr., Louisiana Tech
OL-Kenneth Ackerman, Sr., Nevada
QB-*Colin Kaepernick, Jr., Nevada
RB-Jeremy Avery, Jr., Boise State
RB-*Daniel Porter, Sr., Louisiana Tech
RB-Robert Turbin, So., Utah State

DL-Billy Winn, So., Boise State
DL-Aaron Lavarias, Jr., Idaho
DL-*Kevin Basped, Jr., Nevada
DL-%Carl Ihenacho, Sr., San Jose State
LB-Winston Venable, Jr., Boise State
LB-JoJo Dickson, Jr., Idaho
LB-James-Michael Johnson, So., Nevada
LB-%Justin Cole, Sr., San Jose State
DB-%Jeron Johnson, Jr., Boise State
DB-Lorne Bell, Jr., Fresno State
DB-%Moses Harris, Sr., Fresno State
DB-Jonathon Amaya, Sr., Nevada

PK-Trey Farquhar, Fr., Idaho
P-Philip Zavala, Sr., San Jose State
ST-*Phillip Livas, Jr., Louisiana Tech

*2008 First-Team All-WAC Selection
%2008 Second-Team All-WAC Selection
$2007 First-Team All-WAC Selection
#2007 Second-Team All-WAC Selection
View All