BakersfieldChicago StateGrand CanyonKansas CityNew Mexico StateSeattle UTexas-Pan AmericanUtah Valley
WAC Announces Football Players of the Week
Courtesy: WAC
DENVER - Hawai'i wide receiver Greg Salas, Fresno State linebacker Nico Herron and Idaho punter Bobby Cowan were named the Western Athletic Conference offensive, defensive and special teams players of the week, respectively.
Salas, a junior from Chino, Calif. (Chino HS), caught a career-high seven passes for 180 yards and a touchdown in Hawai'i's 25-20 win over Central Arkansas on Friday night.  After Central Arkansas had gone up 14-2, Salas scored on a four-yard reception to cut the lead down to 14-9 at halftime.  With UH trailing 20-19 in the final minutes, Salas went for 66 yards to the Bears' eight yard line to set up the winning touchdown.

Herron, a junior from Oakland, Calif. (San Leandro HS), had five tackles and made his first career interception in Fresno State's 51-0 win over UC Davis on Saturday.  In the second quarter, Herron picked off a pass at the Bulldogs' six yard line and returned it 94 yards for a touchdown, his first at any level of organized football.  In playing just over a half, Herron helped hold the Aggies to just 43 yards rushing in the game as UC Davis suffered its first shutout since 1990.

Cowan, a freshman from Vancouver, Wash. (Evergreen HS), punted four times for a 49.2-yard average in Idaho's 21-6 win at New Mexico State.  Replacing the nation's leading punter from 2008 (T.J. Conley), Cowan forced the Aggies to start three drives inside the 20 as Idaho snapped a 14-game road losing streak.
Others nominated on offense: junior wide receiver Austin Pettis, Boise State; junior running back Ryan Mathews, Fresno State; senior wide receiver Max Komar, Idaho; junior running back Vai Taua, Nevada; junior wide receiver Marcus Allen, New Mexico State; and sophomore running back Robert Turbin, Utah State.

Also nominated on defense: junior safety Winston Venable, Boise State; senior linebacker R.J. Kiesel-Kauhane, Hawai'i; junior linebacker JoJo Dickson, Idaho; sophomoe linebacker Adrian Cole, Louisiana Tech; sophomore linebacker james-Michael Johnson, Nevada; junior free safety Stephon Hatchett, New Mexico State; and senior safety James Brindley, Utah State.
Other special teams nominations: junior kick returner Titus Young, Boise State; junior punt returner Devon Wylie, Fresno State; freshman placekicker Matt Nelson, Louisiana Tech; junior punter Brad Langley, Nevada; sohomore punter Kyle Hughes, New Mexico State; and senior punter Philip Zavala, San Jose State.
View All