BakersfieldChicago StateGrand CanyonKansas CityNew Mexico StateSeattle UTexas-Pan AmericanUtah Valley
All-WAC Softball Teams Announced
Courtesy: WAC
LAS CRUCES, N.M. - The Western Athletic Conference today released its 2012 all-WAC softball teams and major awards as selected by the league's head coaches. Brigham Young's Delaney Willard was named WAC Player of the Year, while Hawai'i's Stephanie Ricketts was named Pitcher of the Year. Meanwhile, Hawai'i's Leisha Li'ili'i was named Freshman of the Year and Bob Coolen was named Coach of the Year.

Willard, a senior rightfielder from Camarillo, Calif. (Adolfo Camarillo), earns WAC Player of the Year after leading all players in WAC games with 33 RBI, 51 total bases and a .911 slugging percentage. She also ranked second in batting average (.429), home runs (7) and on-base percentage (.514), and fourth in doubles (6). Willard also broke the WAC single-season record and currently ranks second nationally with 83 RBI.

Ricketts, a senior righthander from San Jose, Calif. (Archbishop Mitty) earns WAC Pitcher of the Year honors for the third year in a row. In WAC play, she posted a 12-1 mark with a 1.07 ERA and four shutouts, holding opponents to a .172 batting average and tallying 79 strikeouts.

Li'ili'i, a designated player from Kane'ohe, O'ahu (Castle), posted a .305 batting average in WAC play with four doubles, three home runs and 12 RBI.

Coolen earns Coach of the Year honors for the third time in his career after leading his team to its fourth WAC regular-season title and the top seed in the WAC Tournament. In WAC play, the Rainbow Wahine went 17-3 and led the conference in slugging percentage, runs, hits, RBI, home runs, total bases, plate appearances, wins, opponent batting average, strikeouts, hits allowed, runs allowed and home runs allowed. 

Hawai'i led the way with eight players on the all-WAC teams, followed by Brigham Young with five and Nevada with four. Five of the players were repeat selections from a year ago, while all eight schools were represented. The complete teams are listed below.

First Team Team Yr. Pos.
JC Clayton Brigham Young Jr. SS
Jessica Dugas Brigham Young Sr. CF
Makani Duhaylonsod-Kaleimamahu# Hawai'i Sr. 1B
Melanie Goff Louisiana Tech Jr. SS/P
Jessica Iwata@$ Hawai'i Jr. SS
Kelly Majam&$ Hawai'i Jr. CF
Michelle Moses@$ Fresno State Sr. RHP
Sara Parsons Nevada So. OF
Amanda Pridmore San Jose State Jr. RHP
Stephanie Ricketts@$# Hawai'i Sr. RHP
Sarah Robinson Hawai'i Sr. 3B
Christine Thomsen Utah State Jr. 1B
Delaney Willard Brigham Young Sr. RF
Second Team Team Yr. Pos.
Alex Aguirre& Hawai'i Sr. LF
Tori Almond Brigham Young So. RHP
Chelsea Barilli Nevada Jr. OF
Michelle Cox San Jose State Fr. OF
Karley Hopkins Nevada So. SS
Shaleese Javillo New Mexico State Sr. 2B
Karlyn Jones Nevada So. RHP
Leisha Li'ili'i Hawai'i Fr. DP
Katie Manuma Brigham Young So. 1B
Vonnie Martin Fresno State So. 3B
Courtney Moore Fresno State Sr. DP
Kaia Parnaby Hawai'i Sr. LHP
Briana Tovio-Asato New Mexico State Fr. 3B

@2011 first team All-WAC
&2011 second team All-WAC
$2010 first team All-WAC
#2009 second team All-WAC

2012 WAC Player of the Year: Delaney Willard, BYU
2012 WAC Pitcher of the Year: Stephanie Ricketts, Hawai'i
2012 WAC Freshman of the Year: Leisha Li'ili'i, Hawai'i
2012 WAC Coach of the Year: Bob Coolen, Hawai'i

View All
New Mexico State
Grand Canyon
Seattle U
Utah Valley
CSU Bakersfield -
Grand Canyon -
New Mexico State -
Seattle U -
Utah Valley -